Home > Uncategorized > Talking about The Three Musketeers Bar

Talking about The Three Musketeers Bar


 

Quote

The Three Musketeers Bar

There was a bakery
near the railroad tracks
a broken window
Scent of fresh baked
bread
on the
cooling racks within
Reach.
One candy bar
lasted a day.
That sleepless cold
November turned
to slush and
stumbled into the
Cathedral.
Knelt on both knees
before the alter
outstreached arms
Eyes closed
facing heaven
back arched
breath steaming
garmets and beard.
A shaft of sunlight
shot through a stained
Glass window and
Illuminated the figure
on the floor of the Church.
Like a spot light from Heaven.
As it warmed my face
my arms dropped
to my sides and
I looked straight ahead
at a
Startled Priest
Standing near the Alter.
I stood
Said,
"Sorry, Father."  
Turned and walked
out of the Cathedral
just as hungy and damp as I
walked in. 
But with a smile
as I walked
without.
 
As ever be well.  Stephen Craig Rowe
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Heidi
    November 12, 2005 at 3:30 pm

    I thought of you last night Stephen – in your uniform with your drink – pouring the remainder of your glass out. I hope you felt the thanks of all those who were sending it to you. This poem is eye opening. You have lived life – with ups and downs and all the in-betweens haven’t you? Don’t you agree that it makes us better people? More empathetic. You are amazing. Again – thank you for sharing it in your beautiful way.-Heidi

  2. Kathryn
    November 12, 2005 at 11:50 pm

    I can see you…..see the man.

  3. Lili
    November 13, 2005 at 12:09 am

    Hi Stephen, thanks for stopping by. I’m always wondering what kind of passion you have for life can transform into these beautiful words! My life is in a bottleneck now, and I hope I can get it over with soon. Got to be a tough girl!I don’t know what’s happened to Ning’s blog. seems she’s been quite busy.. Take careLili

  4. Jaime Campbell
    November 13, 2005 at 12:40 am

    Hi Stephen Craig Rowe!How is my friend today? Wonderful poem. Very visual. Your poetry is so fabulous. I love how it moves me.You are a dear man.Love to you,Jaime.

  5. just saying hello
    November 13, 2005 at 2:24 am

    Hello Stephen!How are you this evening? I hope that this little note finds you doing well. I am so sorry for not being able to come back by and tell you thank you for your kindness of words. As I was reading through your blog entry here, I thought to myself within or without, how beautiful is that. You have such a great way with words. Thank you.Take care!Chow!Love Ren

  6. Stephanie
    November 13, 2005 at 2:58 am

    I agree this is very visual. I’ve really enjoyed looking at your paintings. I could appreciate them all, even if I didn’t find them all to my taste, and liked some better than others…. does that make sense? BIG HUGS, Steph

  7. Yolanda
    November 13, 2005 at 7:41 am

    I like being here in my own silence. And just drown in the feeling of your words. You are a blessing not just to me, but to many who read your words. This poem seems very personal. I thank you for sharing your gift with the world around you, and with strangers and friends from far across the globe. Even if they are in the future ha ha or from the past.Be well dear friendYolanda

  8. Elle Sheri
    November 13, 2005 at 10:44 am

    Such a sweet poem drenched with self acceptance..Hope all is well in your woods dear Stephen.. Here’s dropping a note to say ‘Have a brilliant weekend!’LuvElle xo

  9. Moon
    November 13, 2005 at 12:47 pm

    Craig,rare are those people, who "conects" as you well described, at visit my ‘space’. and it does feel good, to know, they are out there…haven’t been here for a while, and today i’ve stopped to observe the last paintings you uploaded.i love the colors, the passion of the line and mouvment that you apply.one can feel as well as see, this hunger for life and beauty!and it’s a pleasant experiance to have.be well.mooon

  10. Cheryl
    November 13, 2005 at 2:51 pm

    It was beautiful…What imagery…thanks for sharing this one.Cheryl

  11. Jim
    November 13, 2005 at 3:17 pm

    I read your comments about pouring drinks to friends that have passed on. It is a good and right thing to do, they need to be remembered. I think it helps both, they that are gone, and we that are here. Glad to meet you Stephen.Jim SMSgt, USAF Ret.

  12. Litespreader
    November 13, 2005 at 5:56 pm

    hi there. came from indigo’s house. i was admiring your paintings, and found myself going into a meditative state..i love the effect they have on me. very nice place you have here.. thank you. t

  13. Barbara
    November 13, 2005 at 7:01 pm

    Very moving! Barbara Ann!

  14. Nina
    November 13, 2005 at 9:46 pm

    Obrigada por sua visita. (Coloquei no tradutor, espero que fique bom) BjssDebtor for the visit. (I placed in the translator, I wait that it is good). Bjss

  15. not such crazy
    November 13, 2005 at 10:48 pm

    Turned and walked out of the Cathedraljust as hungy and damp as Iwalked in. But with a smileas I walkedwithout.EXSELENT WRITTEN!!!

  16. the1stephzen
    November 13, 2005 at 10:55 pm

    I’m not sure I understand the candy bar part, but that’s ok.I’m spending the weekend trying to catch up as a student and plan as a teacher.As always,Steph

  17. just saying hello
    November 14, 2005 at 2:40 am

    Hello Stephen,I hope that this salutation finds you doing well. In retrospect to your comment you left me earlier, you are welcome and like you, I am always so glad for your visits. Also, I will have to agree with you and your thoughts concerning mine. I think we have the most. Here is a toast to you and your friendship, cheers! Have a great day tomorrow and be safe.Chow!Ren

  18. ♥σиє ѕтσρ ѕнσρρєя♥
    November 14, 2005 at 3:13 am

    Just popping in from the poetry corner to say hello =)TC ~jml~

  19. Nita
    November 14, 2005 at 3:24 am

    Breathtaking as usual my friend. Hope all is well with you, Peace, Nita

  20. the1stephzen
    November 14, 2005 at 1:22 pm

    Stephen,Enjoyed IM’ing. The call just never would connect. Maybe next time.As always,Steph

  21. barbara
    November 14, 2005 at 3:43 pm

    Greetings to you, Stephen, from Virginia. The atmosphere here is the best. I am with my family and could not be a happier mom.Thanks for your wonderful well-wishes.

  22. Jim
    November 14, 2005 at 3:59 pm

    I was reading what the poem meant to all of the blogger, but I took it to mean something like your paintings, everyone can walk away with a different meaning of life, to fit there own desires.Jim

  23. Heidi
    November 14, 2005 at 4:01 pm

    Hey Stephen – This is probably a stupid question – but did you erase my comment or did it never post? lol If you erased it for whatever reason I didn’t want to post it again….just curious. I’ve had a migraine for almost 2 days straight – drugged and all – could have easily not posted it or maybe said something offensive??? lol Who knows. Yes – even with a migraine – during moments when I thought the pain was easing I’d visit your space….-Heidi

  24. Z
    November 14, 2005 at 4:52 pm

    Stephen,Thanks for frequently visit me.Maybe,besides finite music and picture,you couldn’t gained more.But you are my faithful friend,however salutation or went across silently.Thank you !Take care!

  25. Kathryn
    November 14, 2005 at 5:01 pm

    Just stopping by to bring you a smile

  26. Nita
    November 14, 2005 at 8:01 pm

    Thank you so much for your kind words. I indeed slept better than I have in days and days. Or should that be in nights and nights? Off to the studio I meander, picking up where I left off…beads are bits of rainbows you know…Peace Nita

  27. Fructose
    November 14, 2005 at 8:42 pm

    Everybody who is even in their busiest life, I believe, there is always a time for HIM to give thanks, glorify, reflect, spread the good deeds and most of all to love. Hope you are fine and would love to greet you, Happy Thanksgiving!Your friend,Maria

  28. marion
    November 14, 2005 at 11:11 pm

    And the mirror plays againgiving up it’suniversal reflectiontruthsmysteries.I liked this one (as most! haha) enjoyed reading while echos faded among the pews after rising up in personal prayer. We were made to walk in our own shoes, after all.:)

  29. Jaime Campbell
    November 14, 2005 at 11:55 pm

    I think that’s so cool that you were in your uniform, ready to go out and honor your friends and our vets. Very cool. Just coming by to say that and hey.Smiles!Jaime.

  30. Lana
    November 15, 2005 at 1:50 am

    Hello Stephen, I have a beautiful visual from this piece. Many changes in a lifetime.I hope you are well, hugs Lana

  31. Jorge
    November 15, 2005 at 3:08 am

    Stopped by to gaze at your paintings for a few minutes. I always enjoy your art. Be well,J.

  32. Beth
    November 15, 2005 at 5:17 am

    hello, are you home tonight?lovebetts

  33. Indigo-XX
    November 15, 2005 at 11:32 am

    Sounds like you could use a nice cup of Tang tea (haha – I laughed my ass off this morning – always a nice way to start the day). And yeah, I remember the stuff: breakfast of the astronauts!

  34. Sassene
    November 15, 2005 at 12:33 pm

    Good Morning Dear Painter,Thank you for being you and for being a friend. =0)You are truly a Godsend, and your work is just beautiful… God be with you always…With love always,SassenePS You have a good day Stephen.OXOXOXOX

  35. Christianne -
    November 15, 2005 at 2:26 pm

    LINDO SEU BLOG…ATUALIZEI MEU ESPAÇO, QUANDO TIVER UM TEMPINHO PASSA LÁ.DESEJO A VC UMA SEMANA ABENÇOADA E UM MARAVILHOSO FERIADO!!!" A vitória somente sorri a quem não para no meio da caminhada"(`“•.¸(`“•.¸ ¸.•“´) ¸.•“´)¸.•“´)«`“•.¸.¤… ¤.¸.•“´»(¸.•` * (¸.•` *(¸.•“´(¸.•“´ `“•.¸)`“ •.¸)BEIJOS NO SEU CORAÇÃO, C CUIDA E FIQUE COM DEUS

  36. Heidi
    November 15, 2005 at 2:31 pm

    *sheepish grin* I never noticed the NEXT button for comments…………found it! lol Thanks Stephen!-Heidi

  37. Litespreader
    November 15, 2005 at 2:34 pm

    just saw the comment you left at indigo’s… that is hilarious!! i can’t get that picture out of my mind…

  38. Jim
    November 15, 2005 at 3:23 pm

    I did work for a Col. O’brian in Omaha. He was a flight crew member, but when I worked for him he was the commander of a recruiting squadron. Nice guy, but a tight wad. Does that sound like the same guy?Jim

  39. Sassene
    November 15, 2005 at 4:33 pm

    Stephen,I do have a three muskeeters bar if you want one… just ask…. lolLove ya!

  40. Heidi
    November 15, 2005 at 5:48 pm

    Just felt the need to stop by and say………..HI*giggle*-Heidi

  41. Barbara
    November 15, 2005 at 10:02 pm

    Hope your day is good.You take care of yourself.You are my FRIEND.Barbara

  42. Kathryn
    November 15, 2005 at 11:00 pm

    just here to look at your work…..:)

  43. Jaime Campbell
    November 16, 2005 at 12:26 am

    Hi Stephen,What you wrote on my space is so true. The meaning in the eyes. Finally, they get it. I hope you are doing well, my friend. I’m starting to go through withdrawals without a new Stephen Craig Rowe post…! :)Love,Jaime.

  44. JouElam e
    November 16, 2005 at 2:39 am

    Dear Stephen"There was" a river near a garden of heartsHe’s said- Walk on , walk with mefollow clear waterfelling and pray intoa little , very little handi … walk…a smile like a teara tear like a smilerolling down…Father , Oh Father , Wake up my dayand open this Novemberwith winethe wine sings across the time…Sorry , for my fool wordsHave a wonderful day , alwaysKiss’sJouElam+SophiePS : We don’t have another way to say to you how your Poetry and Fine Arte is Beautiful .Be well

  45. the1stephzen
    November 16, 2005 at 2:43 am

    Stephen,I am worried about our poet – Bev. Any idea why her site isn’t available?As always,Steph

  46. Nita
    November 16, 2005 at 7:22 am

    Thank you so much Stephen, you are right, our works are greater than we are. At least this is how it is turning out. I strive to be the best person I can be as well as the best artist I can be. All in all in the grand scheme of things, I’m just a speck of dust in the cosmos. But in my part of the universe, I try to make things good. As you too have made a wonderful place in your world. Thanks again my friend, Peace~Nita

  47. manfred
    November 16, 2005 at 11:14 am

    Hola my friendread some of your nice words ,just come the idea,why you not write a book of this ,you can go to http://www.lulu.com its free greetingsManfredp/s have done the same for exaple seewww.lulu.com/bluebirdi am happy with this service good prints and paper

  48. the1stephzen
    November 16, 2005 at 12:44 pm

    Stephen,About your comment, yes…at least in the silence everyone is who they areAs always,Steph

  49. Heidi
    November 16, 2005 at 1:34 pm

    Good Morning Stephen! So glad you are such a good sport with our antics. It was just too tempting!!!! -Heidi

  50. alexis
    November 16, 2005 at 6:56 pm

    you’re such a good writer… take care..alexis..

  51. TaRnLy
    November 17, 2005 at 9:58 am

    ☆—♪—☆ Hi Stephen,ooh ! the blog’s so hot :D ✿ quote for today :" Never stop smiling, not even when you are sad, someone might fall in love with your smile." “永远不会停止微笑,即使在是你难过的时候,说不定有人会因为你的笑容而爱上你。”"จงอย่าหยุดที่จะยิ้ม แม้กระทั่งในยามที่คุณกำลังเศร้าอาจมีบางคนตกหลุมรักรอยยิ้มของคุณก็ได้…" ☆ From : a Land of SMILE ☆

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

