Home > Uncategorized > Talking about The Holidays

Talking about The Holidays


 

 

Quote

The Holidays

     Last year as the holiday season approached I was talking to an elderly gentleman.
He said.  " Steve, ya know it’s true.  As I grow older time does seem to pass more quickly.  I mean,  here it is nearly Thanksgiving and it seems as though it were yesterday. "
 
" Look on the bright side. "  I replied.
 
He said.  " What? "
 
I looked him in the eye and said with a smile.  " It’s almost Spring! "
 
 
     It is nearly Thanksgiving and a time for family, friends, feasts and thoughts of seasons past.
Cocktails in front of the fireplace.  The house all warm and scented with the aromas from the oven and range.  Family gathered at the table and prayer.  Are memories that I am very fond of this time of year.
I have worked most holidays, but remember, and those memories are precious.
 
     The holiday season is busy and will be working six nights a week until January.  Though I will be off on Thanksgiving and Christmas, I am not able to get out of town.  Will be working the phone on those days talking to family and friends.  Because of work, I do not know how often I will be able to post new works.  Though I shall try and make time to write.  
 
     This is a season of thanks and giving.   God Bless You.  And as ever, be well. 
Stephen Craig Rowe
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Kathryn
    November 22, 2005 at 3:16 am

    Be safe, be joyous!And, now, I am looking forward to cooking for our chef friend *smile*

  2. just saying hello
    November 22, 2005 at 4:05 am

    My dearest Stephen,You have to be one of the most kind hearted human beings I have been blessed to meet. Although we do not know each other by face, really or by voice, I know you through your posts and your paintings. There is a kind tenderness and love of man in your words. In this mean ole world, you are quite refreshing. I merely stopped by because I thought to myself in your work that you would be getting very busy, and I did not want you to miss seeing this comment, I want to wish you HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!!!!!!!!! God Bless.Take care and be safe.Chow!Ren

  3. Sassene
    November 22, 2005 at 2:13 pm

    Good Morning Stephen,*handing you a cup of hot nesquik topped with marshmallows* Now Stephen, I am not going to worry after all I got you on my messenger. lol… how can I miss you with someone who got shiny ball? ;o)~ Stephen, you know very well that you will not be alone at all.. God be with you always…Love ya,Sassene

  4. dawn
    November 22, 2005 at 3:06 pm

    +[OshO]+ 69 The morning is very fragile, and the rays of the sun are not verystrong, but they will be proving stronger and stronger every moment.Nourish them, nuture them, And don’t identify with the past. From this moment think of yourself as a newb0rn child. The night is over, and you are born to the morning. It is not going to be easy,because the hold of the past is deep. The morning is very fragile,and the new rays of the sun are not very strong, but they will beproving stronger and stronger every moment. Nourish them…… And dont identify with the past. If any old habit comes by, simply watch it. remain aloof as if it belong to someone else, as if the postman has delievered a letter to the wrong house. It is notaddressed to you, so you return it to the post office. The mind will go on believing just because the old habit,because the mind will take time to know that the address ischanged. The mind moves very slowly; then the unconciousness moveseven more slowly. The body is very lethargic. They have differenttime systems. yours as eversincerely,d.

  5. dawn
    November 22, 2005 at 3:06 pm

    o soulo heado heart

  6. Kathryn
    November 22, 2005 at 3:26 pm

    and still laughing at the image of a cheesecake exploding in the oven! how did that happen!?!?! *laughing*!

  7. Heidi
    November 22, 2005 at 4:23 pm

    Apparently you and the Chef survived your evening out on the town – I hope Peoria faired as well…..lol. I am looking forward to this Thanksgiving more than usual for it is one without stress. We are staying home and it will be quiet and cozy with a fire for sure with with snow coming. I hope yours is as warm. Thank you for thinking of all of us and we too shall be thinking of you…..Happy Thanksgiving Stephen by dear friend –Heidi

  8. Cheryl
    November 22, 2005 at 5:04 pm

    I will be here during the holidays and would appreciate spending it with you so expect me in your space….

  9. marion
    November 22, 2005 at 10:02 pm

    Stephen:1. Please forgive, exactly what day do you folks celebrate thanksgiving (ok, small payback of ignorant Canadian humour)-HA!2. Please, pick you favourite toast and let’s have one together on that evening.3. Absolutely post it. ‘Twas too much fun. When are we going to do it again?Happy Thanksgiving.:)

  10. Moon
    November 22, 2005 at 10:36 pm

    may have a precious Thanks giving, with lots of dear moments and may you be surrounded by your love one.MOON

  11. Lana
    November 22, 2005 at 11:19 pm

    I fully understand that life is so busy. I am so busy just now that i don’t have time to focus and really write. I don’t like to do a half assed job of it, so i would just rather wait until i can give writing some proper attention.I work so much this time of the year as well. Its good in one way, but I get tired out fast! Uh oh, getting old i am.hahaThanks so much for your wonderful comment. I appreciate it much! Take care. Thinking of you. ~Lana

  12. KATIA
    November 22, 2005 at 11:23 pm

    •*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•¸.•*´¨`*•*•.¸¸.•¸.♥¸.•*★ ¸.•*♥ ¸.•*★ ¸.•*♥ ¸.•*★ ¸.•*♥ ¸.•*★¸.•*♥ ¸.•*★•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•¸.•*´¨`*•*•.¸¸.•¸.`·.¸ ) Just passing through(.·´ to fill my soul with the beauty*´¨) and equilibrium I can feel in your space(`’·.¸(`’·.¸ ¸.·’´) ¸.·’´)¸.·’´) «`’·. ♥ Hear kissesi ♥ .·’´»(¸.·` * (¸.·` * …………….K (¸.·’´(¸.·’´ `’·.¸)`’ ·.¸)

  13. Jad
    November 23, 2005 at 12:07 am

    Happy thanksgiving to you buddy. We don’t have thanksgiving here in Lebanon, but we have turkey :P it’s usually done on christmas. Anyway, enjoy your best thanksgiving yet and try to slip us some poetry in between work hours 😉

  14. Jaime Campbell
    November 23, 2005 at 1:15 am

    Take care of yourself during all of your work. We’ll be thinking of you and wishing you a wonderful and special holiday. Come visit when you can.Wanted to tell you how much I really do love your comments. Damn, Stephen, they are like poems in themselves. You are wonderful with words. Thank you so much.Joy to you.Jaime.

  15. Jaime Campbell
    November 24, 2005 at 12:46 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, my dear friend. I hope that you are peaceful and happy this Thanksgiving eve.Love to you.Jaime.

  16. Lana
    November 24, 2005 at 2:50 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours Stephen. We had ours in Canada on the 8th of October, i am still thankful for my family. and my friends. Please take good care. hugs Lana

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

