Home > Uncategorized > Talking about The Eve Of Saint Nicholas Day

Talking about The Eve Of Saint Nicholas Day


 

Quote

The Eve Of Saint Nicholas Day

Not so very long ago
Thanksgiving was
Just a word
And Christmas
Was nothing like we
Know it today.
The sixth day of December
Is
Saint Nicholas Day.
I was not there,
Way back when
Nick was named a Saint
But am inclined to believe
That some good works were done.
Research if you choose.
I recall a giver of gifts
that became the
Father of  Santa Claus.
A Saint that gave more than gifts
To the Children
A Saint that gave rise to the Dream.
That causes all good people
To make the Dream a reality
Of  Peace On Earth
In Every Child’s Life
That is
Everyone’s Gift of Joy.
 
Thank you.  As ever be well.  Love,  Stephen Craig Rowe
 
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sassene
    December 6, 2005 at 8:13 am

    Beautiful written!!!!! It touched me deeply…. Thanks for that…Goodnight sweet dreams!!!XOXOXOX

  2. Jaime Campbell
    December 6, 2005 at 2:24 pm

    Beautiful. Hello, my dear friend. Again, I want to thank you for your comment. It makes me feel great when you say that I’ve found myself. Big hugs.Jaime.

  3. Bekke
    December 6, 2005 at 2:29 pm

    Hi Stephen! I’m coming from my every day place instead of the Holiday Junction, but I wanted to come by. I meant to yesterday to thank you for the tip on those two Christmas spaces. I did go check them out and asked their permission to link them to my holiday space. I believe you saw the results of one of them when you commented that "some of them just don’t get it". I agree with you but just decided to let it slide. LOL!But I also wanted to come by here and say thanks for visiting and leaving a comment. I appreciate people that do that and I try to return to everyone that does and leave a comment also. Plus I wanted to come visit you as well. I love your space. Very inspiring in all aspects. Hope you will come by to visit me at this space as well as come again to the Holiday Junction space. Your company will be very welcome at all times.I hope you have a very nice day. Talk to you soon!~Hugs~

  4. Angela
    December 6, 2005 at 9:33 pm

    What another lovely piece you’ve shared.. My birthday falls on 12-24. Thank you for giving me another day to celebrate instead of the mass commercialization that is feasted upon of modern times.. something that’s overshadowed a simple celebration always.. forgotten.. Ehh.. I am celebrating this year.. easily forgetting for the sake of my children.. Up here it’s easy to see why a winter celebration is important.. (is very cold, gets dark early.. festivities are essential).. Hope you are well. Solaria ~

  5. Barbara
    December 7, 2005 at 1:45 am

    Giving to the children is what it is all about.Barbara

  6. marion
    December 7, 2005 at 2:51 am

    Stephen, my friend.There’s been a fire. Cannot contact anyone except on public computer.No power. Won’t have any until electrical inspector ok’s the power be turned on again.Am ok. Tired, dirty and hungry is the worst of it. Cold.Still seeking help.Don’t worry.:)Taking care.Love!

  7. Heidi
    December 7, 2005 at 3:07 am

    Peace to you Stephen – especially this time of year and to all of you that visit Stephen’s site. Your Studio here in Spaces always brings me a bit of peace.-Heidi

  8. 未希
    December 7, 2005 at 5:41 am

    HI~I am Chinese girl here just say Merry X’mas for the coming festival…to every friend around the world

  9. A Utah Woman Am I
    December 7, 2005 at 7:24 am

    Stephen,I am thoroughly enjoying your holiday postings. I sit here with my mouth open and nodding as well. Okay, well maybe not my mouth open…that would create drool…;)But you are so correct. Dreaming. That is what lies behind much of what we do this season. We dream to be better people and give–then act upon those dreams as well. I am simply glad that we are really given the opportunity to do it this time of year. But personally hope that I can carry this spirit throughout the rest of it.Be well and thanks for the well wishes!Kelsey

  10. Jade
    December 7, 2005 at 3:00 pm

    How nice to recall the innocent thoughts and dreams of childhood so easily hushed….I like that- He gave more than gifts- Peace to you my friend

  11. M
    December 7, 2005 at 7:05 pm

    S,Enjoying your poetry.Some technical questions if you don’t mind. 1. I’ve checked out your oils "big screen." Many of them have some black or very dark areas which (as a semi-pro photographer and very amateur oil painter) I am a great fan of. Dark allows highlights to shine and accentuates color as I see it. Is this use of black intentional? A conscious decision? No great matter, either way, because the result is stunning.2. Do you do your oils wet-on-wet at one sitting? Or backgrounds first, a drying period then the foreground? Do you use semi-transparent glazes? Or all these? I am learning as I go, by doing and asking, and I just can’t tell by looking at a computer monitor how you’ve done what you’ve done. I do know I like the finished product. regards,cas

  12. Alice
    December 8, 2005 at 2:10 am

    You have such a way with words…so blessed. Do continue and Merry Christmas!

  13. Nita
    December 8, 2005 at 6:39 am

    This I knew…LOL!! One in a row for me!Thanks Stephen for dropping by my humble site, and for your words of wisdom. The funny thing is…I have a truck…but the drive and hauling things would take more than just the single uhaul…(smile) Gas prices are still high here on the coast…but letting go and letting God, so it’s in his hands now. Bead Happy, Nita

  14. dawn
    December 9, 2005 at 8:04 pm

    i know : you know : Jesus knowsso all is right,d.

  15. dawn
    December 9, 2005 at 8:06 pm

    btw, i may not be allowed to ring you even though you gave me your telephone number and for the fact thatc we have spoken on par..todayque, sara, sara

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

