Home > Uncategorized > Talking about The Wolf Shine Moon Time

Talking about The Wolf Shine Moon Time


 

Quote

The Wolf Shine Moon Time

This January night
The Wolf Moon Shine
Did not guide me home.
I took a Taxi.
As we sped across
a bridge that spans
The River
I saw, and said,
To my Driver
"Wow, Buddy….Look at that!"
He replied, " Been looking up
All night." 
I sighted the Moon again and sighed
To myself out loud.
" The Wolf Moon." 
 
Walt, the driver knew what I
was talking about.  We spoke of times
In the Great North Woods
 
And I pondered, ever glancing up.
Commenting here and there.
The trip had ended.  Paid my fare, with
A good tip and a handshake.
 
Paused on the steps, Then
Stood in the yard
Gazing at the Heavens
Ever Clear this Night
In the Wolf Shine Moon Time
Bright light that nearly drove me to
Howl.
 
At the beauty of it All.
Spirits of Indians dance in the wind…..
I whisper softly with
Those who see in the Dark
And Listen in Silence as
The Wolf Shine
Moon Time
Draws a path in the skies
And in all the shadows.
Ever remember the Call.
 
As ever be well.  Stephen Craig Rowe 
 
 
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Charlotte
    January 15, 2006 at 12:03 pm

    Heya Oh Artist One!What a lovely painting studio you have here! The artwork is very impressive!Keep up the artiness!

  2. the1stephzen
    January 15, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    Stephen,Love those Indian Spirits. Hope all is well!As always,Steph

  3. Heidi
    January 15, 2006 at 4:38 pm

    I missed this moon – but don’t feel like it now….*grins*-Heidi

  4. Jaime Campbell
    January 15, 2006 at 4:54 pm

    That moon was absolutely amazing, wasn’t it? Breathtaking. Awesome poem.Hugs,Jaime.

  5. john and sandy
    January 15, 2006 at 8:26 pm

    hey bro the great notrh woods moon that howls in the night we shall never for get the sounds of river glen luv your bro

  6. Barbara
    January 16, 2006 at 2:01 am

    Back in the 60’s & 70’s we had a radio station with a dj named Wolfman Jack and he would howl at the moon, and play rock n roll late at night. Everyone tuned in.Barbara

  7. artist
    January 16, 2006 at 2:43 am

    Another beautiful poem Stephen. It conjured up poignant images, keep up the great work, best wishes, Winsome

  8. ·§ilvermøøñ·
    January 16, 2006 at 5:26 am

    Hey there….thanks for stopping byi hope that all is well….

  9. Sassy
    January 16, 2006 at 9:01 am

    what wolf?? Did someone turn into a werewolf?!?!?! Who? Stephen, oh m y! No way!

  10. Sassy
    January 16, 2006 at 10:22 am

    Thank you Stephen for giving me a big hug, and it helps me a lot to know that you are there for me when I am hurting. I do appreciate it very much. Just bear with me as I go through my struggles.Love always,S.

  11. Ann
    January 16, 2006 at 1:25 pm

    Hello Stephen, I’ve visited before, but it’s been awhile. <sorry> Today I read on Sassene’s blog about her sadness and the link over to here. Thanks for letting us know about her needs. You are a good friend.Best, Nan

  12. Angela
    January 16, 2006 at 2:20 pm

    It was beautiful last night. Truly beautiful. Had a wreath of light clouds surrounding it, and I had to resist the urge to howl…. I just shot it instead. Wished I was down at the lake to catch it rising… Must needs get film devleoped.. really need remote shutter release for time delay.. I don’t even care about technicalities, not this day…. just loved looking at it through my long.. long lens.. *s* Love the way you tell it Stephen..

  13. Barb
    January 16, 2006 at 2:42 pm

    This is absolutely beautiful..but your words always touch a cordand bring a smile !As I walked my little four legged mate We howled in sheer delightWe ran and we dancedIt was ever so brightas we swayed in the lightThat shone from the nightup above…:)Barb

  14. SANDRA
    January 16, 2006 at 5:41 pm

    Ohhhh Stephen…The Wolf Moon…you brought it alive with you beautiful words….I smelled the fire as the Indian spirits danced about it and the Hungry Wolf cried out….I so love your site!!!!! True Artist…Sublime Poet….your artwork and words imprint within my Soul!Eternally and forever….wishing you love and peace….Sanddee

  15. steve
    January 16, 2006 at 7:47 pm

    HI, NICE WORK, IM MAKING A SPACE AT THE MOMENT FOR ALL ARTISTS TO SHOW THEIR WORK. NOT JUST A LINK, BUT IN THE BLOGS ETC. ITS A GREAT WAY TO SHOW OFF ARTISTS WORK, ALL OVER THE WORLD. IF YOU WANT TO JOIN TO MAKE THIS HAPPEN LET ME KNOW.STEVE

  16. barbara
    January 16, 2006 at 7:50 pm

    OoooowwwwwWOWYeah, that Wolfgheist was here in Heidelberg too.Wolfman Jack… Oh yeahWas he on WINS 1010 out of NYC? Can’t rememberBut I surely did listen to him.Thank you Barbara, for that Blast from the Past!Ooooowwwwwww

  17. Jaime Campbell
    January 17, 2006 at 12:51 am

    Hey!Your comment made ME smile from ear to ear. Thank you so much, Stephen. Your support and encouragement has always been important to me. And your comment this time made me soar around in joy for awhile. Thank you so much. Hugs and hugs and hugs.:)Loves ya.Jaime.

  18. Kathryn
    January 17, 2006 at 3:23 am

    Oh, how I love this poem — and, Stephen, I put up a poem that turned out to be under yours – before I saw yours — that was similar, yet not – as if there was a photo and one was a beautiful photograph, and the other was the negative of the photograph, not only the negative, but what was happening in the edges of the photo–as i fyou’d taken a full clear picture of the beautiful moon shining down on that scene, and my poem is the dark edges of it…..Thank you for your poetry, your art — you are an inspiration.

  19. Litespreader
    January 17, 2006 at 5:40 am

    really nice here…

  20. View
    January 17, 2006 at 9:10 am

    UpDated…Aloha!;-)

  21. Moon
    January 17, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    Dear Stephen,Was so touched by your poem !!!You words creating this beautiful chain of images and silky moon-mood in me, a poem, is one of the greatest gifts i can wish for my self!and you have taken me up to the sky, my wings wide open -while reading you…and a huge smile of a child -the all-beleiver in magic that rested upon me for a while….thank you!

  22. neda
    January 17, 2006 at 9:21 pm

    Amizade é somar confiança, dividir alegrias, é certeza da presença amiga Apesar da distância adoro sua visita

  23. Jaime Campbell
    January 17, 2006 at 11:47 pm

    Just came by to say hi. Now I’m off to the egg one. :)J.

  24. steve
    January 18, 2006 at 1:01 am

    HI STEVEN, THE SPACE IS IN ITS EARLY STAGES AT THE MOMENT, I WILL LET YOU KNOW WHEN ITS UP AND RUNNING.MANY THANKSSTEVE

  25. Patricia
    January 18, 2006 at 1:50 am

    Wolf Shine Moon Time…so wonderful how you put all of it together…Nice to give a click and see what you do with paint…very nice…

  26. A Utah Woman Am I
    January 18, 2006 at 6:39 am

    Thank you for the news hook up Stephen.It is good to know that there is still a decent news place out there. And I think what made it even better is that there are no commercials but at the same time the picture assortment makes it interesting to view. The media can be both corrupting and uplifting. And I think that your art and poetry does just the latter–uplifts and inspires. I often wonder if when you were young you dreamt of being a painter? Is this true?Take Care of yourself,Kelsey

  27. Nora
    January 18, 2006 at 2:27 pm

    I love staring at the moon too, and the stars, they’re just beautiful :) Makes you think as if someone is there, watching you.Have a lovely day, take care.

  28. neda
    January 18, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    Estou passando para deixar meu carinho e regar nossa plantinha da amizade, viuuuuuu…..E não se esqueça, gosto muito de tê-la em meu cantinho.Um beijinho carinhoso, fica com Deus!!!

  29. Nita
    January 18, 2006 at 8:28 pm

    Too much rain to have seen it here my friend. I’m getting the row boat out and ready just in case. Guess half a mountain fell down just after we passed with the uhaul truck. Blocking my way to return. All things for a reason eh?? Beading Happy, Nita

  30. JouElam e
    January 18, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    Hi, friend Stephen, how are you? Your SPACE is our favorite one. you know that. We appreciated for too much your visits. your pictures and your poetry are pure art. have a happy after-noon That always have health, happiness and love as your inspiration source Always yoursGeorge and Sophie

  31. Fenix
    January 19, 2006 at 4:21 pm

    Many years ago, wolves were living in Galicia (España). Today, they are living in mountains of Lugo and Ourense,only, but when I was a child, to hear their howls, it was impressiveSorry, but I speak English very badUn saludo

  32. Tami
    January 19, 2006 at 4:26 pm

    Managed to catch up with reading your poems. I was just thinking how apt it is to call your work here the painting studio. Because everyone of your poems paints a picture in mind as I read it. I espeically like the one here ‘The Wolf Shine Moon Time’. Brings back echoes of "American Graffiti" for me. Thanks for your work here Stephen. Believe me you are much appreciated!hugsTami aka Marine mom

  33. Moon
    January 19, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Stephen….those words:"Spirits of Indians dance in the wind…..I whisper softly withThose who see in the DarkAnd Listen in Silence asThe Wolf ShineMoon Time" keeps coming to my head…and i wanted to make a sugestion: how about -you poet..writing a new poem for each and every MOON? :)

  34. Justin
    January 20, 2006 at 12:05 am

    WOW, that was an amazing poem, i loved the rythm, tone, the mood, everything. great poem

  35. Jaime Campbell
    January 20, 2006 at 12:41 am

    Hello my sweet friend,Thank you so much for voting for me. :) Big smiles here. Feels great! I hope you don’t mind that I quoted you on my blog. You wrote it so eloquently, that I could not improve on it. Love you,Jaime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

