Home > Uncategorized > Painting Studio Flag, Fine Art Salute, Prayer, Poetry and Memorial Day Weekend

Painting Studio Flag, Fine Art Salute, Prayer, Poetry and Memorial Day Weekend


 

Quote

Painting Studio Flag, Fine Art Salute, Prayer, Poetry and Memorial Day Weekend

" This flag,
which we honor
and under which we serve,
is the emblem of our unity,
our power, our thought
and purpose as a nation.
It has no other character
than that which we give it
from generation to generation."
Woodrow Wilson, 1917
 
As I read those words, spoken many years ago.  I paused and thought of my grandfather who fought in World War One and never spoke a word of the sacrifice.  Oh, there are some old photos of a dashing daring soldier about, somewhere.  My father seldom spoke of his time served in World War Two and the photos I have seen have made me proud of my dad.  I do not talk about my time from 1967 to 1969 and have no photographs.
 
This weekend the fortunate are off to open up the cottage and get the boat in the water.  Family reunions and can see the meat searing on the grills.  See the bands marching in the streets.  Pink faced kids waving flags and old veterans and new standing in silence and in memory.
 
America, America I pray to wake and re-awake the dream that freedom sings, yet know that singing freedom songs are not enough.  I sigh at my age and as a veteran support each and everone that is free and alone on the line.  As a man I pray for peace and for all those who have fallen.  May they ever be held holy in the light of the dream.
 Honor, remember and pray for peace.  For it is in your hands.  As ever be well.  With love.  Stephen Craig Rowe
 
Authors note:  Today I will take the flag that hangs in my living room and fly it well lit on the porch until Monday night.  Then when it is near midnight on Monday I will put on my battle dress uniform and in silence look at the sky and into the shadows.  In reverance and out of respect I shall pour half my drink into the ground…..Then hang the flag back in my living room where a light ever shines on in honor.  This is the third and final cut of this post.  Time
to bring our people home and out of harm’s way from the civil war that rages in Iraq.  The complex issues there should be decided by the people of Iraq as they rebuild their nation in a manner befitting the traditons and dreams of the people. 
Time to bring our people home and place the professional soldier where they are needed most.  It is not the border patrol.  Get food and water to those people that are starving and die of thirst.  First, then go after the bad ones, try and re-educate them with one word.  From the power within and without. 
 
 
 
 
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. View
    May 26, 2006 at 9:09 am

    Aloha! Stephen!  😉
    Mahalo! …For Your Service To Our Country!
    Hava Nice Memorial Day Weekend!
    I Salute You!
    😉

  2. Fenix
    May 26, 2006 at 8:00 pm

    Hello Stephen:
    Have a great weekend and Memorial Day
    Hugs

  3. Fructose
    May 27, 2006 at 7:44 pm

    Very touchy and I feel for your wishes. Have a great Memorial Day weekend to you.

  4. Jorge
    May 27, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    A fine tribute for this weekend, Stephen, and one which everyone should heed. Half my high school class lies in the ground having given their young lives for our country, and students of mine have subsequently made the ultimate sacrifice for their country around the globe. They deserve to remembered, and our leaders reminded of the price their decisions continue to cast on the lives they command. Be well,
    J.

  5. The CEO Of Comments
    May 27, 2006 at 11:42 pm

    AN INVITATION FOR
    YOU TO THE PRESTIGIOUS BILLIONAIRES CLUB

    Hi there

    This is a personal invitation for you to become a member of
    the prestigious billionaires club.

    Membership is free, and all you have to do is place a
    link from your space to mine and in return, your name and a link to your space
    will be added to the Billionaires Club Membership list for all to see

     

    We are looking forward to having you as one our newest
    members

     

    CLICK
    HERE TO BECOME A MEMBER

     

    The 1 Billion Comments Project

    The Home Of The Comment

  6. the1stephzen
    May 28, 2006 at 2:03 am

    Stephen,
    I will think of you pouring the drink.
    You’re too late on the advise to wait about beginning the hard work of revising.  I have been working on the formatting and beginning the revision all day.  I am so eager to read it through.  BTW, did I tell you I am back in touch with the book’s hero? 

  7. 未希
    May 28, 2006 at 4:18 am

    六·一 将至,问候所以曾到客过ﺴ۩๑千の孤独天堂๑۩ﺴ的朋友们,虽童年已逝,但欢笑尤在,只要我们童心未泯,就足以回头,向自己道一声: "Happle Children’s Day!"

  8. Jade
    May 28, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Peace To You Stephen……

  9. Cheryl
    May 28, 2006 at 4:44 pm

    I totally agree with everything said here.  I loved th flag pictures and will be thinking of you and your ancestors sacrifice as well during this holiday. 

  10. ηικκιħart
    May 28, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    Hi Stephen,
    Happy Memorial Day weekend.
    What you wrote on this is really beautiful, you have such a wonderful way with your thoughts and words.
    I hope your weekend has been great for you.

    ღ´¨) ¸ .*´¸.*ღ´¨) ¸.*ღ¨) (¸.*´ (¸.*` ღ*Love Nikki xo*ღ

  11. Indigo II
    May 28, 2006 at 5:49 pm

    Hell YEAH!  While it pains me to think of half your drink being poured out, I remember your touching tribute from last year and agree it’s a wonderful gesture…thanks to the brave men and women who have made our country what it is.
     
    And thank YOU, Stephen!

  12. Kathryn
    May 29, 2006 at 1:37 am

    stopping by-reading with respect…

  13. Barbara
    May 29, 2006 at 4:15 am

    Have a peaceful few days off of work & enjoy!Barbara

  14. Just Me
    May 29, 2006 at 11:09 am

    Stephen. First of all.. this is a beautiful post, and lovely tribute to memorial day, your words and your plans for today, very touching.. you are an amazing person, and I am glad that I stumbled across your space, Im sure the people who surround you in your life are blessed to know you.   Thank you for your kind comment on my poem.. It is a pretty touchy subject, and all I can do is hope and pray that my 2 little girls have a chance to know their father in a better light.  Hope your week is well, and I will be thinking of you tonight in your battle dress uniform and your half full drink giving a moment to all the brave ones who fought and are fighting for their country… keep being you Stephen.  You are admired by many.
     
    Happy Memorial Day!
    Just Me.

  15. strollerguy
    May 29, 2006 at 11:39 am

    Well said, Stephen!

  16. JouElam e
    May 29, 2006 at 4:05 pm

    Dear Stephen
    Your words make us believe in life,love and peace
    Wonderful post
    Have a nice week
    with love
    George+Sophie

  17. The CEO Of Comments
    May 29, 2006 at 6:50 pm

    The Billionaires Club

    The Elite & Posh

     

    Congratulations:

               
                  
    You are now a member of the elite “Billionaires Club”

    You will find your name “Paintingstudio” and a link to your space on the
    following roster | Click
    Here

     

    Please Notify Us When You Find Your Name Or Need Help
    Finding Your Name

     

    PS: Make sure that the link to my space is always visible
    and you will always be a member

     

     

    PSS | could you please make the following changes to your
    list

     

    Name: The 1
    Billion Comments Project Member

     

    Description: Help
    In This Record Setting Attempt To Acquire 1 Billion Comments

     

    Thanks (Please notify us when you make these changes)

     

    Thank you for supporting the 1 Billion Comments Project

    The Home Of The Comment

  18. Jaime Campbell
    May 29, 2006 at 8:39 pm

    This is beautiful, dear friend.  I, too, remember last year when you gave your memorial.  Must have been on Veteran’s Day, because I wasn’t on Spaces yet in May.  Anyway, your words move me.  I will hold the image of you conducting your memorial.  You are special.
     
    I LOVED your last comment with all the F’s!  It made me laugh soooo hard, I had to read it aloud to Hubby.
     
    Love you!
    Jaime.

  19. artist
    May 29, 2006 at 8:40 pm

    Hi Stephen, so good to be in touch and another inspiring piece of
    writing. So pleased you found my new home. Has been a round about
    journey but have now found the place where I will stay. Like yourself
    still painting and each day attempting to be an instrument towards a
    peaceful world,  best wishes Winsome 

  20. ♥σиє ѕтσρ ѕнσρρєя♥
    May 30, 2006 at 2:07 am

    I agree with you Stephen…although there is no reason for any living thing to be tortured! Whether they are soon to die or not.

  21. Magenta
    May 31, 2006 at 5:51 am

    This is deeply moving and one of the most inspiring things you have written. People often forget the sacrifices that have been made to make democracy possible. I am very proud of you Stephen.
     
    Elise
     
    Your writing grows more powerful all the time.

  22. Unknown
    May 31, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    Thank you for your worlds in my humble space.
    It went to me a honor to have voted in you.
    You are a friend of my friends, therefore you are also my friend.
    An hug , congratulations.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

