Home > Uncategorized > Talking about PAINTING STUDIO Veterans Day November 11, 2006

Talking about PAINTING STUDIO Veterans Day November 11, 2006


 

Quote

PAINTING STUDIO Veterans Day November 11, 2006

Several months ago there was an American Legion convention in Peoria.  It was a rather busy Friday night and I was at the podium in my tuxedo taking a phone reservation.  After scratching the info in the reservation book I checked the room to see if any tables would be leaving shortly.  There was a party of ten at the fireplace that was nearly finished.  When I got back to the podium there was a guest who informed me that he had a group of ten men in the lounge that would like a table.  I told him that it would be about fifteen or twenty minutes and he said that would be just fine because they were having some drinks.  He was a Post Commander from the northwest suburbs of Chicago.  I let him know that I was also a member of the Amercan Legion and that I had lived in Barrington, a northwest suburb of Chicago for twenty five years before moving to Peoria.  We introduced ourseves with a firm hand shake and a look in the eyes.
" The guys I am with are all members of my post and are Vietnam Vets.  All have been wounded and some have been prisoners of war."  He said.
" I will come and get you as soon as the table is ready."  I replied.
 
I promptly sat the group in fifteen minutes.  After the server brought them a round of drinks I approached the table.  " Gentlemen!  I want to thank you for your service. "  I said in a loud clear voice as I snapped to attention and gave a crisp salute.  They all stood and returned the salute.  Then each man shook my hand and gave me a gangster hug.  I managed to hold my tears.  It was a moment.
 
This Veterans Day take the time to thank a Veteran you know for their service.  It will mean a lot to them.
As ever be well.  Stephen Craig Rowe
 
 
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Barbara
    November 10, 2006 at 8:19 pm

    Thank You for your service, Stephen.

  2. Hope
    November 11, 2006 at 1:07 am

    *Standing straight..*
    *Looking straight ahead*
    *Gives Stephen a salute*
    *Thank you Stephen for all you have done.. and still do each and every day *
    with love ~Hope
    p.s.My thoughts are haunted as well..

  3. Marie
    November 11, 2006 at 1:25 am

    This is a fantastic post. . . so timely, too.  Thank you Stephen for your service. " I think there is one higher than president and I would call that partiot."(-Gary Hart)
    Hugs, Marie

  4. Cheryl
    November 11, 2006 at 3:38 am

    You are so good….It brought tears to my eyes s well…

  5. john and sandy
    November 11, 2006 at 4:40 am

    very well put bro luv ya

  6. Carole
    November 11, 2006 at 5:49 am

    I thank you for your time spent in the service.. I appreciate all you have done. Happy Veteran’s day

  7. Jer
    November 11, 2006 at 9:13 am

    Thank you dude for your time in service. It was very good post.
     
    God bless you,
    Jeremy

  8. Rokia
    November 11, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    Your story has inspired me to blog about my events as a Pizza Hut server, and turn it into a story.

  9. Fenix
    November 11, 2006 at 6:40 pm

    Hello Stephen:
    Happy Veteran’s day!!this is an interesting post
    Hugs

  10. LIGHTNING
    November 11, 2006 at 9:23 pm

     
      
     
    JUST WONTED TO SAY HI!
    IF YOU GET TIME, AND WONT TO CHECK
    THIS OUT AND TELL ME WHAT YOU THANK.
    TO PLAY: CLICK HERE!
    HAVE A NICE DAY!
    LIGHTNING!

  11. Dr.
    November 11, 2006 at 10:08 pm

    Cousins!…sounds like Dippy the MochaJavaMan is so worried about being ‘outed’, that he has just closed his MSN Space..access denied baby!!
    In order to further distance himself from the impending humiliation, Dippy is once again pretending to be a different blogger than Aaron of the PelvisZone! Throw in some bad spelling and punctuation and it appears MJM is sweating bullets, cousins!!
    And oh, the presentation tonite will be later than originally broadcast.The Cap’n and his crew are installing a new high-speed, mega-gig memory computer with dual partitions; Windows XP + Windows Vista-beta. See ya around 8:00pm Mountain Time!

  12. Heidi
    November 12, 2006 at 12:34 am

    Hey Stephen…..thank you for your birthday wishes…..but……they’re just a tad premature…..LOL!  Miss Sassy is trying to age me quicker than time is!  You both are so sweet though!!  My actual date of entry occured December 11, 1970 – so I got another month yet….*smile* 
    I loved your entry…..and thank-you for your service and so many others….God bless you.
    With love and appreciation,
    Heidi

  13. Jude
    November 12, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    What a wonderful post :)Lest we forget.

  14. shelly
    November 13, 2006 at 2:01 am

    Hello  Stephen
                      Thank you for your service                                                                    ` \\              /\-/\           /\-/\          /\=/\-""-.//        /) = ^I^ =        = ‘Y’ =(\      = ‘Y’ =  ,  \       ((_ /’-^-‘\ _    _/’-^-‘\_))     ‘-u-‘  /(  /        `\`\ \ / /`/    \\ \ / //`       /;_,) |\\ \          (_\_|_/_)     (_(_|_)_)       (_/ (_/ (_(_/            """ """           """ """          ""  ""  "" ""  Great space & read
                        I hope you had a great weekend take care
                            Stay safe Love from shelly xxx.
                              .

  15. SANDRA
    November 15, 2006 at 1:57 am

    God Bless You Stephen Rowe…you "welcomed those soldiers home" by your respect to them…I love coming to visit you Stephen..in your wonderful site, I often find exactly what I need to make my day a warmer place to live ……  thank you for being you Stephen, I am honored to have come to "know you" here in this Blog World …..love, Sandra..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

