Home > Uncategorized > Talking about Painting Studio And The Trans Siberian Orchestra

Talking about Painting Studio And The Trans Siberian Orchestra


 

Quote

Painting Studio And The Trans Siberian Orchestra

The Trans Siberian Orchestra played the Peoria Civic Center Friday November 17.
 
Prior to rambling on I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving weekend.  By the way…Jennie-O frozen turkey roast-loaf sucks!
 
In addition to being a life long fine arts painter and sometimes bad poet I am also employed as Maitre d’ at Jim’s Steakhouse in downtown Peoria, Il.  After straightning my bow tie and checking my tux early in the evening the night before the concert I was at the podium looking over the reservation book.  A slightly built long haired middle aged man approached and asked to see a menu and a wine list.  He mentioned that he was staying at the Hotel Pere Marquette and that Jim’s was highly recommended.  We chatted a bit about some upper end wines and he made a reservation for a party of five at seven under the name Pitrelli.  As I wrote his name in the book there occured a familiatiry that I let pass. 
 
Around seven I saw Pitrelli and his party standing near the podium.  I walked up with a smile and said, " You are the Orchestra!"  They all smiled and Al Pitrelli introduced his wife Jane and three other band members.  The look in the eyes were genuine and the handshakes quite real.  There was a connection.  Throughout the evening there was conversation that was pleasant and meaningful.  During dinner Al invited me to the table to share a glass of wine and the band toasted me!  They are good nice people and I am glad to have met them.  After dinner they moved to our piano bar and the pianist played a very moving piece.  As the evening ended and as they were leaving.  Al gave me a gangster hug and thanked me.  His wife Jane gave me a big hug and a kiss then thanked me for making the evening wonderful and memorable.
 
Friday night during the concert Al mentioned to the sold out audience that the pianist played at Jim’s Steakhouse and what a great time the band had on Thursday night.  Glad to have been a part of it.
 
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Barbara
    November 27, 2006 at 3:01 am

    I would like to see this Orchestra live!

  2. Sassy
    November 27, 2006 at 9:02 am

    Sorry to hear ur turkey sucked… but couldn’t you have bought Turkey drumstick or thigh or wings from butcher shop, that’s what I am going to do once I feel better, I am gonna have myself the belated Thanksgiving dinner… haha… better late than never… :P
     
    Luv ya…
     
    Glad ya had the opportunity to see the pianist playing…

  3. Michiko's
    November 27, 2006 at 11:31 am

    Fogot about it frozen turkey…just remember other good thing that you had pleasant evening with nice people …I like the piano bar restaurant that it nice to listen to have quiet dinner with someone special ….
    I’m glad your enjoy the night.
    Enjoy your day,
    Michiko
     

  4. Marie
    November 27, 2006 at 12:54 pm

    What an experience!  Great people are great because they love what they do and are happiest when they are with people who appreciate them.  Hugs, Marie

  5. vania dos santos
    November 27, 2006 at 1:25 pm

    GOOD DAY!
     THEY HAVE A GOOD WEEK
    " The wonderful disposal and harmony of the universe alone can have had according to plain origin of a Being that everything knows and everything can.
    This is being my last one and more raised discovered.
     (Isaac Newton)"
     They make the favor to be happy

  6. Hope
    November 27, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    Dear Stephen,
    This was a very special time not only for you but for them as well..
    your grace in helping them to feel at "home" I am sure touched them as it touched you..
    They sound like great people.. but then they did meet you.. so they can’t help but be touched
    by your spirit.. and were blessed as well..
    soft hugs ~Hope
    p.s. still snowing and snowing and snowing..
     

  7. Jorge
    November 28, 2006 at 2:38 am

    That’s a great story! I enjoyed the paintings you have posted. Be well,
    J.

  8. Marie
    November 28, 2006 at 2:58 am

    I am glad you liked the inari sushi that you made for yourself.  Inari sushi is such a simple dish, so easy to prepare and so delicious.  I am glad that "aburage" (thin deep-friend tofu) is available in your local market.
    Hugs, Marie 

  9. Jude
    November 28, 2006 at 10:33 pm

    What a great story!!!  Thanks for sharing :)Take care :)

  10. Randall
    November 28, 2006 at 11:47 pm

    Well done Stephen…May your Holidays continue to be Merry and filled with Good Cheer!  regards, Randall

  11. the1stephzen
    November 29, 2006 at 2:11 am

    Stephen, Just stopping by because I haven’t lately!  Thanks for "keeping up" with me. 

  12. ηικκιħart
    November 29, 2006 at 7:43 am

     
    Hi Stephen,
    My last weekend was a bit of a disaster due to the sudden heavy snowfall we had here,
    but things are sorting out.  I hope you had a good weekend and hope your week has been
    going great for you so far.  Thanks again for your vote at SHOF, I appreciate the support so much:-)
    Take care my friend,
    Hugs and luv,

    (¯`v´¯)  `·.¸.·´ ¸.·´¸.·´¨) ¸.·*¨)(¸.·´ (¸.·´ .·´¸Nikki¸.·´¯`·

  13. Hope
    November 29, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    Dear Stephen,
    What is that I hear?? Is that music I hear??So glad you were able to find someone who could help you out..
    It sounds wonderful..
    Have a soft day.. as always.. ~Hope
     

  14. Sassy
    November 30, 2006 at 8:04 am

    *POP*

  15. Melissa
    November 30, 2006 at 12:31 pm

    Oh how wonderful!!! (bet you don’t get that too often!) I have worked many bars and many retueraunts, alas my few and far between claims to fame have been mostly football players. The most notable two we’re Mark Vick…( I love Virginia Tech, thats where he got his start untill picked up by the Atlanta Falcons) and when working in Clemson, SC I met the "Fridge" Perryy….who was a Clemson Alumni. Others includud various musicians, (though none of the ilk of the fine arts of orchestra)…..Met Rod Stewart on one occasion before his concert in Charolette, my seat was only three rows back and I was invited onstage, (with several other girls) to dance with him. Yummy. There are more, but none really worth mentioning. Ok they’re worth mentionign but my memory escapes me on the wheres and hows I met them…(evil grin).Take care, Melissa

  16. ferhat
    November 30, 2006 at 1:31 pm

    MERHABA FROM TURKEY

  17. chantal
    November 30, 2006 at 2:47 pm

    coucou
    tu vas bien
    bisous

  18. Sassy
    November 30, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    *BUZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ* Lookie there goes ur alarm clock! Get up! =0p

  19. Fenix
    November 30, 2006 at 7:21 pm

    Hello Stephen.
    This great story!! my computer was out of order, "kaput" by a storm. Now I am here again, and I’ll try to translate my post
    Have a nice day.
    Hugs

  20. Mo
    December 1, 2006 at 2:13 am

    Hello- Stephen.
    you met nice people who love music.
    what a nice experience. :ㅅ; wow

  21. Barbara
    December 2, 2006 at 5:53 am

    the link is very good!

  22. linda
    December 3, 2006 at 2:36 am

    OH yes we are like clones for apprecation, I would of loved to of had eyes in the walls to see all your evening.  It sounds lovily and
    you where their " host of joy" , and joy you gave, came~~~~~ back to you!!!
    I am learning older is better in dazzled heart and spirits with azule mist……….youth is glory  light running a forthright  path both
    so good so good.  I love life.  there is so much beauy. I enjoy your energy Stephen.  Love Linda

  23. EspaçoDaMama
    December 6, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    Hi,
    It is a pleasure to be here, visiting this its so wonderful space. I wait to be able to come back with calmer and reading its writings.  hug,Neila Costa

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

