Home > "clubhouse" > Talking about PAINTING STUDIO MADE THE NEWS TODAY

Talking about PAINTING STUDIO MADE THE NEWS TODAY


 

Quote

PAINTING STUDIO MADE THE NEWS TODAY

Most Sunday afternoons I walk to the grocery store and it takes about three quarters of an hour to arrive there.  If I know that the purchases will be few I strap on the back pack and walk home after concluding my shopping.  Today was hot, humid and I knew that the provisions would not fit in my back pack.  Sometimes I take my camera but always take my camera/phone.  Still feel silly taking pictures with a phone and am not yet proficient with the Cannon Power Shot SD800 IS.  While waiting in the check out lane (yes check out lane, Michiko.  Smile), I called a taxi.  " Hey buddy, this is Steve.  I am at Kroger EP headed home."

                        " Be about 20 minutes today."  The dispatcher replied.
                        " Thank you, have a good day."  Click.
     Good I thought.  Will call Mom while I am waiting for the Taxi.
The check out clerk looked at me and said, " I did not know your name was Steve.  Until just now."  I thought about telling her that it was really Stephen but some people call me Steve and just said, " Pleased to meet you ".   Then chit chatted a bit about how I was going to prepair the bay scallops as she finished scanning the goods.  Bade good day and parked my shopping cart next to a bench and settled down for some people watching before calling my Mother.
 
     I had the camera/phone in hand when a young man with a camera around his neck approached.  He introduced himself and told me that he was a reporter from the Peoria Journal Star.  He sat down and told me that his assignment was to interview and photograph ten people for a feature in the paper sometime this week.  Being me, I thought this is cool for even bad publicity can be good publicity.  He then said that I only had to answer one question.
      The question was:  Of all books, which book do you most regret not reading? 
 
       I drew a blank, looked him in the eyes and said,  " That is a very good question."  My mind was racing rather like a library data base running through authors and titles.   I explained that I read and have read a great deal in my youth and most of my adult life. 
       Thinking, thinking, we made some small talk on a bench overlooking the supermaket parking lot.  Hot and humid shoppers in tank tops, t shirts, cut offs and flip flops scampered in and out of the store.  Thinking, watching, talking and thinking. 
       He said that one woman regreted not reading For Whom The Bell Tolls.
"Read everything he wrote."  I replied as my Taxi slid up with Darell’s silly grin.
        "Ride’s here, have to go" and loaded the contents of the cart into the back seat.  Just as I was to shut the car door, I stood up and said. 
" War And Peace".  Looking at the reporter as he left the bench and came to the Taxi.
Yes, I regret not reading War And Peace, I said.  "Tolstoy was a great author".   
       The reporter asked my name, and permission to take a photo to be published in the Peoria Journal Star some time this week.  I gave him my proper name,  Stephen Craig Rowe and the link to the Painting Studio.  He took a couple of photographs of me by the Taxi. 
       Now I think did I read War And Peace?  Am sure I did.  At least half, smile!
        What book do you most regret never reading?
 
As ever be well.  Stephen Craig Rowe

Categories: "clubhouse"
  1. Cat
    June 9, 2008 at 2:06 am

    I started reading War & Peace when I was 12 – kept at it until I finished it at 14 – BUT I had to skip all the essays interspersed with the story line – you know that question can’t be properly answered because it implies that one’s life is over and one will never have a chance to read that particular book – ask me that one my death bed if perchance I live long enough to actually die in a bed! LOL!!!

  2. Barbara
    June 9, 2008 at 2:53 am

    I do not read books but do read a lot of poetry.I keep it short so poetry suits me.

  3. Michiko's
    June 9, 2008 at 3:07 am

    Dear Stephen,
    It was nice to seen you at the grocery ha ha ha I sawed my name in here…
    you don’t mentions for whats you were shopping ?  I think you’re good son’s to your mum that every sunday you called her, keeps it up.  
    Sorry I read mostly Japanese books Isn’t it a strange…ha ha ha
    Have a great week ahead,
    Michiko 
     

  4. puzzle
    June 9, 2008 at 6:32 am

    I don’t regret none, because I think, if it would be really important to me, it would "appear & wave" – so most books – besides of professional knowledge – do, and if it does, I read in fact everything with printed something upon.
    Just, I made a funny but typical typing mistake: everythink – that’s it. ^^

  5. R U Serious
    June 9, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Hi ‘Steve’!!  lol!!  Bay Scallops!!  Sounds GOOD!  Remarkable post!  I loved reading it.  I’m not much of a book reader anymore.  I used to read alot of Science Fiction… Robert Heinlein, Frank Herbert (which of course included the ‘Dune’ series) and have read alot of Dean Koontz books, but now I’m more into newspapers and magazines.  I suppose I regret not reading some of the Classics.  But there is still time!!  I have a Canon PowerShot SD1000 and love it but no camera on my cheao cellphone.  Again, I really enjoyed this post and ALWAYS your writing.
     
    Take care Stephen and have a wonderful week.
    Bob~

  6. Heidi
    June 9, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    From start to finish – all by myself (not guided by a religous sect) – …………The Bible.

  7. Heidi
    June 9, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    OK….after reading through your comments…..Nikki and Cat are right.  No regrets…..yet.  *wink*  However, tis sad to say….I’m forever the procrastinator….LOL.
     
    Anyhow, had to come back to let you know how much I enjoyed this post.  When you write like this, I have a vivid movie picture playing in my head.  It’s truly a window into your world,,,,,and I love looking in.  *smile* 
     
    (((Hugs)))

  8. Laoch
    June 9, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    "One Hundred Years Of Solitude," by Gabriel García Márquez

  9. Sassene
    June 10, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Hi Painter! Sorry I haven’t been around a lot these days, some days were quite difficult and overwhelming on me. As for my regrets, well, I don’t really think I have any regrets when it come to the books, but I do have a lot of regrets in my own life. I used to be a vivid reader, and loved the books unfortunately I have changed so much, I have became somewhat distant and withdrawn from my own favorite things. You already knew that about me. I can’t say I regret I haven’t read, perhaps, a part of me wish that I was still that same naive girl I once was, but I had to grow up and become somewhat bitter because of my past experiences. You gotta buy that newspapers, and mail it to me, smile!
     
    Love you,
    xoxoxox

  10. Brent
    June 11, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Hi Stephen…
     
    I never got to read Dr. Seuss
    for use
    as sublime
    I’d find
    I’m sure
     

  11. Kathryn
    June 11, 2008 at 11:48 am

    There will be so very many books I will regret never reading – but, right now, I say my own *laugh* – I mean, between a cover, with a publishers stamp and a forward and acknowledgments – yes….ahhh…
     
    (did you send me something via email re: art review, just checking too make sure not spam..which I doubt, but these days who can tell!)

  12. Coffee With Kate
    June 11, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    just loved the ‘chat’  It has been many, many months since I las visited here;I hope you are keeping well Stephen,
    Knd thoughts
    Kate.

  13. Yours Truly
    June 12, 2008 at 1:27 am

     
    Hi  Stephen,
    I enjoyed this painting of a few moments in time.  I think that is a particularly difficult question to answer – did you ever get to see the article?  How did others answer the question?  I suspect few have read the Bible from cover to cover and regret it.  I regret not reading more of the sacred texts of other religions.  I hope your day is going well.
    Peace,
    ~Truly
     

  14. Deborah
    June 12, 2008 at 3:13 am

    I can’t say that there are any regrets about a book I haven’t yet read, I regret only that there were a couple of years when I didn’t even pick one up.  Now I read constantly.  Books I really loved like Atlas Shrugged I read more than once.  Now I am trying to rebuild my Space and I regret that MSN nearly shut me down because of some classical paintings of the Goddess I had stored.  Sheesh!
    Blessed be
     

  15. Lola
    June 12, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I thought of two right away: The Great Gatsby, Pride and Prejudice.
     
    So many books….so little time.
     
    Take care, Stephen.

  16. dawn
    June 13, 2008 at 11:24 am

    your words as always touch me, dear Stephen.  i dont think there’s a book i regret not reading.  if i wanted to read certain book, i usually spring forth and grab it :P (lol) you made me laugh with your afterthought on War & Peace.  thks!  with affection, dawn

  17. Stephanie
    June 19, 2008 at 4:19 am

    There are many I regret reading, but, regret not reading? Hmmmmmmmm Now that is a hard question to answer.
    I haven’t ever read War and Peace, but, I never really wanted to.
    I dont’ think I can answer that question because if I want to read something I will. I still read the books that my children read (if I haven’t already read it). I like knowing what they are putting into their minds.
    My younger daughter is into vampire books. I miss the days when she was reading, "Junie B. Jones".
    I can’t really complain though. I was reading Anne Rice when I was in 7th grade, along with Steinbeck and Asimov. BIG HUGS, Steph

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

