PAINTING STUDIO On The Eve Of August By Stephen Craig Rowe


                                                 "Space is only as deep as one makes it."Stephen Craig Rowe
     On the eve of August pluck ripe tomatoes from a plant smelling rather like ditch weed that Bambi and company crushed a bit of while grazing on the rosebuds.
     Chomp, munch and crunching sounds of deer delight.
     " Hey, watch out!  Ya just pushed me into that great big green plant with those round red, green and orange things."
      "Ewww,’scuse me.  It is a rather small garden you know."
      "Yeah, well if you hadn’t bumped into me…..What is that smell?"
      "Your hooves crushed some of the tomato plant, silly deer."
      "Stinks to high heaven like a skunk, cat pee, or really bad pot."
      "Really bad pot.  How would you know?"
      "Remember last August we got really wasted munching on bats and buds over yonder."
      "Oh yes.  You could not stop laughing or eating and kept calling everyone Dude."
      " Yeah, well you should have seen the silly expression on your face with your big red Bambi eyes and toungue flapping out the side of your chops.  Slobbering and giggling like a she cat in heat."
       " And how ’bout you trying to mount that scare crow on the way home.  Yelling hey Dudes I’m gonna do Bozo the clown."
        Click!  "We better scram.  That click was Stephen turning on the bedroom light."
        "Shoosh, be quiet."  I tossed and turned a bit but the light was only in my dreams.
         The deer then stepped silent in the early dawn just before the first peep of light or chirp of birds smiling and nodding to each other as they made way up the ridge and back into the woods on the eve of August.

 

Have a good-great weekend and as ever be well.

Stephen Craig Rowe


  1. .
    July 31, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Good morning, a pleasant wekend, full sun and a smile, a big smile I send you ….

  2. Ann
    July 31, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    So, the deer know you by name! Can’t get away with anything.

  3. Touch
    July 31, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    And i thought my wife was the only one who spoke deer! Hope you have a good weekend, Stephen.

  4. puzzle
    July 31, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    I love the deer’s dialogue but I love also the scent of freshly broken tomatoe’s green. (Maybe I am free to, because I never had experience with bad pot ^^) I wish someone would draw a four-picture-cartoon from this scene …

  5. Jade
    August 1, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Giggling- you are too much !!I love the way you end it all, La-te-da….so much for the ‘stink’ they are still coming around eh?Ah yes, the days gone by for me, hanging out in the fields high & stupid :Dgood times,good times…

  6. Patsy
    August 1, 2009 at 2:54 am

    You too Stephen have a great weekend. Wish I could speak deer. Hugs, Patsy

  7. Douglas
    August 1, 2009 at 4:56 am

    Man, bummer man. Like Dude, damn… and all. I know exactly what you are talking about living out here in Deadwood and all.

  8. KatSoup
    August 1, 2009 at 5:10 am

    ha ha you nut! You have been "over yonder" too haven’t you?

  9. Michiko's
    August 1, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Dear Stephen! Silly deer, skunk, cat, etc! Enjoying dreaming and wake up with chirp of birds a beautiful morning….It is not bad dreams though kept you busy at night lol!Have a good rest,Michiko

  10. Beth
    August 1, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    The deer tongue is very interesting Stephen, I hope you are feeling well. Prayers still in place for you!

  11. Rambling
    August 1, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    I speak deer. They are afeared of me (not! They laugh every time).

  12. Polly
    August 1, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Looks like you have some pretty wild visitors. I hope you are feeling well – Your story made me smile :-)

  13. barbara
    August 1, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Never had deer come to the garden while I had one in the wilds of Riner Virginia but had plenty racoons, pole cats and box turtles who loved to munch my best tomatoes.Love the photo… Mein Schatz. :)

  14. Marilia
    August 2, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Obrigado pelo carinho da visita !!Embora você traduza teus poemas … o site utilizado com certeza, deixa os textos meio confusos…Mas eu entendo a essencia do que queres transmitir… e adoro !!!Obrigado por este grande amor que me alimenta !!!Mil beijos!!!Saudade!!!

  15. Here I Am
    August 2, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    I often hear the birds conversations. Especially the cliff swallow. They just love to sit and talk. Where the tree swallow the are allows argueing with their mate and disagreeing about everything. Enjoyed your deer conversation. Hugs Carrie

  16. Tammera
    August 4, 2009 at 3:34 am

    interesting ring you have on in the picture….mean something to you?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

