PAINTING STUDIO Invitation to The Rose And Thorn by Stephen Craig Rowe


 
The Rose
And Thorn

 
     The Rose and Thornhttp://www.theroseandthornezine.com/   is an internet literary quarterly that features authors of novels, short stories, poetry and more.   The ezine is going through a revamp and earlier today I was approached by the publishers and editors to contribute art work for the cover of the winter issue due out in mid January with a run through mid April 2,010.  Kathryn Magendie and Angie Ledbetter are publishers and editors of The Rose And Thorn.  My dear friend Kathryn is also the author of Tender Graces a novel that I did not only read but was able to experience through Kathryn’s well written words.  Of course I gave the publishers permission to use any of my images for the new Rose And Thorn Journal format and will do what I can to get the word out.  It is an honor to do so. 
    Though today was too early for Indian summer the sky was blue and the sun warmed my face as I took my Sunday afternoon walk.  Do hope the sky remains clear so I can see the full moon of October later tonight.  The house is warm and filled with scent of an oven roast chicken and all that goes with.   Perhaps one more gin on ice, finish the mashed potatoes, honey glazed carrots, giblet gravy and stuffing.  More than enough for one so I shall dine fine for a number of days on this evenings mini-feast.   Wish you were here.
As ever be well,
Stephen Craig Rowe
    
  1. john
    October 5, 2009 at 12:20 am

    Lit mags are great little gems and to grace a cover is an honor….congrats…

  2. Grandpa Dewey
    October 5, 2009 at 12:21 am

    Stephen,I do like your stories and photos. Back in the days that I was doing some photography it was an honor to have something published. Now I must go and check out the old fridge.Have a great week

  3. Beth
    October 5, 2009 at 2:16 am

    Congratulations Stephen I am sure your art work for the cover will be beautiful.It was lovely here today 100 miles to the east of you. It only reached 62 for a high and the temp has already fallen to 48 so it is going to be another chilly night.Your supper sounds delicious. I would rather have chicken and stuffing than turkey. I am not fond of turkey. And what in the world is stuffing without mashed potatoes and gravy?

  4. Sue
    October 5, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Wonderful news Stephen,Take careSue

  5. Michiko's
    October 5, 2009 at 7:18 am

    I love your rose and Thorn pictures and your stories, I hope you ‘ll enjoy full moon of October tonight.Perhaps! at out side that we could have ( a bunch of your friends) get togethar have dinner together (your roast chicken that sound pretty good for everybody :-)It’s a good idea to hace nice white wine and follows Gin and ice???? would be very nice…..I thinking of you tonight…..Michiko

  6. Sparkles
    October 5, 2009 at 10:42 am

    That’s really good news Stephen.. I’m really pleased for you… :-D I love the images evoked when you describe your day.. etc.. so well put… :-D The appreciation of the simple things in life.. shines through too… :-D Have a magical day… :-DJen. xxx

  7. Ann
    October 5, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Congratulations, Stephen. Keep us posted about what they choose of your work.And yes, I wish I were there too for your delicious sounding meal. :)

  8. Rambling
    October 5, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    How cool is THAT!!! Congratulations, Stephen. Great work and a super reward for it. :-)

  9. Jade
    October 5, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    mmmmm, that food sounds delicious…..I am so relieved that growth is shrinking :)

  10. Duckie
    October 6, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Thank you for your comment. It showed me some wisdom in you that took my breath away.Keep taking those walks.Eileen

  11. Michiko's
    October 7, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Have you seen the moon last night? I didn’t see the last night in the overcast but early in the morning I can see through the window.The rain that we have been expecting but there is just showerly day, as you know the weather man is not always reliant ….Everytime I have my drink then thinking of you :-) You take care my friend!

  12. Catherine Mary
    October 7, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    ‘The Rose and the Thorn’…a very evocative title for a magazine…I think it’s wonderful that you were asked to do the cover…that’s great, Stephen! love, Katie.

  13. Jorge
    October 8, 2009 at 2:12 am

    I’m glad more people will get to see your wonderful art work, and that you had a chance to enjoy the beauty of yet another day filled with sunshine. Wishes for your recovery remain in my heart.J.

  14. ··¤ SETH
    October 10, 2009 at 6:23 am

    You certainly do deserve some recognition! Good for you. Your dinner sounds absolutely scrumptious! I like that feeling of pleasant surprise when you realize that a meal is already taken care of because you have leftovers. I live for leftovers, particularly after major holidays. Nothing better than a next-day Turkey/chicken sandwich with stuffing, mayo, cranberry sauce, and a side of mashed potatos. Mmmmm…

  15. Kathryn
    October 13, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    I am linking this to my Tender Graces blog today – you are so supportive Stephen *muwah* I miss my MSN friends – I need to go visiting! I see Jorge! Michiko! Rambling! Nanci! John!

  16. Here I Am
    October 14, 2009 at 7:44 am

    The rose photo is just stunning. Congratulations on your work being used. Wish I had been there to enjoy your lovely dinner and a glimpse of the moon later. Sounds like you have been enjoying the simple pleasures of life. Healing hugs and prayers. Carrie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

