PAINTING STUDIO And The Seven Horsemen by Stephen Craig Rowe


     The seven names are known only to themselves and the Heavenly Father.  From the dawn of imagination they served kings, queens, Liberty, the Dragon, magicians, churches and states.  Though seldom seen their heroic deeds were often called miracles and they answered to no man.  Some good folk thought of them as warrior angels, while those who dwell in darkness thought of them as ghost riders and fear.  Though they have been about for as long as forver I only saw them about ten or fifteen years ago.
     My painting studio at the time was located in an old coffee warehouse on the river front that had been converted into trendy shops, offices, and the Contemporary Art Center of Peoria occupied the second and third floors.  The third floor was reserved as rental space for artists, crafts people and such.  I had a private studio at the time and as I recall it was a cold winter night as I painted alone in the building.  The old wood floors and bricks would often make cracking sounds as the winds pelted windows.  A painting I was working on was not quite what I wanted and took a cloth to wipe the canvas clean.  As it was rather late I put the rag aside and decided to call it a night.  While putting things to right and cleaning brushes the cloth on the floor caught my eye.  I held it to the light and there they were.
 
    
      My mind’s eye gained sight as I gazed at the image then the image became poetic and very real. 
The Seven Horsemen
rode upon a storm
deep in the night
unseen
silent.
Rather like a dream
tossed in
soft sheets,
turning to each other
with a knowing nod,
a sign,
perhaps
or was it
banners waving,
horses tossing tail
in flight of
riders on
the storm and
into the
fires
of
dawn to
be
born again.
 
And they rode
the fire,
and
all night
long
touched
dreams,
gave hope,
took nothing,
and
in dawn,
rode into
the
Light
 
There but for a moment
was peace.
Then the Seven Horsemen
woke again
in
the reality of
myth
nodded to each other,
for only they
and
the
Heavenly Father
know their
names.
Then as dawn
came to day
a whisp
of
frosty mist
gave frim
ground
for
The Seven Horsemen
to
ride!
 
     I hope you enjoyed this as much as I have enjoyed the writing and, oh, you know.
As ever be well,
Stephen Craig Rowe
 
 
 
 
 
  1. Patsy
    November 7, 2009 at 3:20 am

    You know I enjoyed it. Thanks just beautiful. Hugs, Patsy

  2. ROCKET
    November 7, 2009 at 3:27 am

    I enjoyed it also, my friend!

  3. Beth
    November 7, 2009 at 3:45 am

    Very nice! The paintings are beautiful.

  4. Horst
    November 7, 2009 at 4:29 am

    Excellent poem story, The Paintings are good as well.

  5. Jade
    November 7, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Fantastic!!!! Do you see the skull above them?!!I wish I could print this out on one long sheet & print it-AKk I love it!!!

  6. Rambling
    November 7, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I did enjoy it indeed, and your talent is awesome.

  7. Douglas
    November 7, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Wonderful artwork!!!

  8. Prenin
    November 7, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Hmmmm… Very interesting!!! :o)You have a good eye and imagination my friend!!!God Bless!Prenin.

  9. Polly
    November 7, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    It’s a long time since I heard tell of the Seven Riders. Your poem and pictures are a perfect reminder, but to have seen them and live to tell the tale – Wow! My heart’s in my mouth, awestruck. Wishing you good health and enjoy the rest of the weekend :-)

  10. Julieann
    November 7, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Dearest Stephen Craig,When I read your words and look at your paintings, I feel no need to travel to far off lands. They take away that "want" and stir a gratitude that you have provided a personal place for me called "The Painting Studio." How generous you are with us. Thank you, Stephen Craig :) Love your words "as I painted alone in the building. The old wood floors and bricks would often make cracking sounds as the winds pelted windows. A painting I was working on was not quite what I wanted and took a cloth to wipe the canvas clean. As it was rather late I put the rag aside and decided to call it a night. While putting things to right and cleaning brushes the cloth on the floor caught my eye. I held it to the light and there they were." nice…very nice…Have a great time tonight at the concert and seeing your friends. Loved the video! Will be thinking of you!always…Julieann…always

  11. Michiko's
    November 8, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Dear Stephen,Your poem and pictures shows it almost four season the words are very touching.Have a great day,Michiko

  12. November 8, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    As I look at each painting and each changes in color so do your words.. Your words are magical as is your Art. Stephen you have an amazing Gift. .Brilliant Work..and Be well also my Friend.Lisa xo

  13. Julieann
    November 8, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Stephen Craig, Thanks for sharing about the Dragon’s breath. What a perfect description :) I hope to hear about the concert last night. I love their music and this video is awesome. I am going to the foot doctor tomorrow early and hopefully I will not hear bad news like "I need to operate on your foot right away. Hopefully a nice shot of cortisone in the heel will be sufficient for now. It really feels like I have a sharp piece of glass in it. I am making a toast to you and your health and drinking my fine organic apple cider vinegar as you so suggested :/ PROUST!!!

  14. Mei's
    November 11, 2009 at 6:25 am

    It’s to dark:-( to read it again, I’ll wait until day light to read the words again, its so scary to look at the pics! :-)Well, half way writing this I went back up to have another peek, with all your friends down below, I am feeling strong!:-) The pics look like a skull and the colour scare me! After read it again and again, I began to understand now, my English are still poor! :-( Another great post, thankyou Stephen, you’re funny!:-) Mei

  15. Here I Am
    November 16, 2009 at 4:57 am

    I love your presentation and words. The imagination took you places…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

