Home > fine art, poetry, world news, headlines, peace, quality, love, oil painting, computer and internet, music, dance, communication, > Talking about PAINTING STUDIO VETERANS DAY November 11, 2,009 by Stephen Craig Rowe

Talking about PAINTING STUDIO VETERANS DAY November 11, 2,009 by Stephen Craig Rowe


 

Quote

PAINTING STUDIO VETERANS DAY November 11, 2,009 by Stephen Craig Rowe

                                             " In action and deed ever remember in honor and respect those who serve and the Veterans
                                                 that have served.  In doing so one becomes a part of history and in the present improves
                                                 the betterment. "  Stephen Craig Rowe
 
     My Father’s flag holds a place of honor in my house. As the eldest of six I recall the moment when the Post Commander white gloved presented Father’s flag to my Mother.  She held it in her hands but for a second and passed the flag to me.  There are no words to describe the field of glory as we lay to rest one so near and dear.  The Service and Sacrifice are held holy and carved into the white stones that represent the Soldier, the family, the people and the thanks given in rememberance and honor.  I took my flag from the living room to the porch and hung it as I do on the eve of Veterans Day with part of my battle dress uniform on, paused before I saluted the flag, shed a tear or two as I reflected.  The porch light will remain on all night long, and until midnight on the 11th. 
     Just before midnight on Veterans Day Night I will don my battle dress uniform and go to the yard.  I will look at the flag, the stars, take in the night for a bit, pause, pray, remember, pour half of my drink into the ground in honor, respect for those.  Then I will salute and take the flag down and return it to my living room where a light ever shines on the stars and stripes.  Though no one ever has seen me during this tradition matters not, for the act is mine and mine only in honor and respect of Those. 
     This is also the birthday of my dear little sister Carrie and a finer day it could not be.  In parting for now I will leave my brothers in arms with a salute and tribute. 

     Adam, my son, at last report you were stationed at Ft. Riley Kansas and assigned to the Big Red One.  I love you more than words can tell and am so very proud of you.  I salute you.

      In time within and without the following video is well worth a view.

     

As ever be well,

Stephen Craig Rowe

http://www.army.mil/

 
  1. Beth
    November 11, 2009 at 3:06 am

    I salute the veterans too. May God Bless them all and keep them in His care.Great pictures and video Steve. A happy birthday wish for your sister Carrie.

  2. ROCKET
    November 11, 2009 at 3:13 am

    What a moving tribute, my friend. This is a fine way to honor your father.

  3. Sue
    November 11, 2009 at 3:18 am

    God Bless you and all Veterans Stephen for what you have done for us allWe will never forget, those who have died for us, for we live in freedom because of then"Lest We Forget"

  4. john
    November 11, 2009 at 4:09 am

    A salute returned.My father’s burial flag I gave to the local VFW where he was a life member. They keep his flag in his memory and of all others who served in WWII with him. There are moments when words fail. In silence I sit and pause, giving thanks.

  5. November 11, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Dear Stephen,I sat for a long time and looked at the photo you have posted at the top after reading your words.Very Deep and very moving. Beyond words . Im with John. It is so hard to find the right words . My heart and mind keep going back to my Grandfather. Peace and Blessings My Friend.

  6. Mei's
    November 11, 2009 at 6:04 am

    Lovely post Stephen, I don’t have chance to see my grandfather, they all die before I was born. My dad was too young to fight at war. I still don’t understand why we "human" are fighting each other. Where is the ???… sorry Stephen, I’m in trouble again! :-) Have a good day anyway! Take care, Mei

  7. Prenin
    November 11, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I saw a picture of a guy in a T shirt and on the back it said: Freedom isn’t free. Somebody paid.Thanks my friend for your courage and service to the Free World.Prenin.

  8. Rambling
    November 11, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    What a perfect post. A celebration of the lives before us and those with us now who have sacrificed so much. I honor the Veteran’s Day service you silently and lovingly prepare and conduct. God Bless America.

  9. Sparkles
    November 12, 2009 at 9:44 am

    We owe our freedom today to these brave people and they should always be remembered and honoured for their sacrifices… I was touched by the way you do this Stephen…Jen. xxx

  10. ··¤ SETH
    November 16, 2009 at 1:03 am

    From Armistice to Veterans, as one patriot to all veterans… past and present… I salute you all!! I thank you veterans for not being selfish with your lives and believing in our nation’s freedom. And, for those in the tomb of the unknowns, thank you for the historical significance you’ve made. We will celebrate and honor our unknown American veterans of all wars and for their patriotism, love of nation, and sacrifice you and your families have made for the common good of our nation. I believe we should thank you every day of the year not just on certain days. After all, they were/are the courageous men and women who fought and died for the idealism of liberty and freedom for all. It was the veteran, who saluted our flag, who served under our flag and who will be remembered under our nation’s flag. ……… THANK YOU!

  11. Here I Am
    November 16, 2009 at 4:50 am

    What a wonderful blog and salute…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

