Home > Uncategorized > A Message from Steven

A Message from Steven


Hi, this is Steven’s trusted friend, Julieann Nordstrom, delivering some really good news tonight. Steven’s sister, Kathy, called me late this afternoon about the outcome of Steven’s big surgery today. The doctors were able to get ALL of the cancerous tumor
out and it looks like all the months of chemo paid off. The doctor was really pleased and Steven’s sisters and Mom were over-joyed that that they could give him good news on this surgery. His sister was warm and gracious on the phone and was so appreciative that all his space friends are cheering him on. I told her how he has touched so many of our lives. She said he was in a good amount of pain though and he told her to please call me to share it so I could share it with you.

Last night, Steven called to ask me if I would share whatever the outcome was
after his colon cancer surgery today, with all his space friends. He asked me to
write a message from him on his blog tonight. He sounded centered and I asked
him to please share a few wonderful stories of his life with me and he did in only the
way Steven can tell a story. He had me laughing with his wonderful Irish humor and then I had tears streaming down my face when he described the most wondrous moment of his life and that was when his son was born. I asked him how much I could share with all of you and he was quiet for a few seconds and said "Julieann, just say it the way you say it." That’s what I call trust :/

Whenever I hear more news, I will post it and when he calls, I will read all your comments to him if he isn’t quite up to getting on a computer. I played around and put his message on one of his paintings with a picture of him so I hope it turns out.

always…Julieann…always


Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Grandpa Dewey
    December 9, 2009 at 4:30 am

    I am glad that I can be the first. This is great news, he will be our prayers during his recovery. He knows about my wife who has just started her chemo treatments for the second time. So we know what he has been through in these past months. Please pass on our get well soon wishes.Grandpa Dewey.

  2. Horst
    December 9, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Wow, I didn’t realize Stephen was having surgery today, I am super glad that his cancer has been removed and that they got all of it. I am so happy for him, and hope he is up and at his painting as soon as possible. Get better real soon, Steven. As ever be well.

  3. Babblelot
    December 9, 2009 at 5:15 am

    Wonderful wonderful news! Thank you for letting us know.I wish a speedy recovery and the best Holiday season ever!

  4. Lady Jude
    December 9, 2009 at 5:39 am

    I’m still thinking of you Stephen. Just rest and mend well. I can see you again in fine form.Hugs Lady Jude

  5. Sue
    December 9, 2009 at 5:52 am

    This is wonderful news, Thank you for telling us,Stephen rest up and get well soon,Take careSue

  6. looyahn
    December 9, 2009 at 5:53 am

    oh, thanks the God! Be well quickly, old Stephen, paintings and poems are waiting for you

  7. December 9, 2009 at 6:09 am

    You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers Stephen. Bless you Juliann for getting us this news.Lisa xo

  8. ROCKET
    December 9, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Fabulous news, Julieann! Thank you so much for letting us know. Stephen is in our thoughts and prayers and we’re all hoping for a speedy and complete recovery.

  9. puzzle
    December 9, 2009 at 6:33 am

    A really good and loving idea, Stephen & Julieann, to care that much for your Space’s visitors & friends and give us some information. So all best wishes for the recovery. Thank you both.

  10. Joseph
    December 9, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Thank you. Great news and answered prays for a great many people. Pass our well wishes to him as he continues his recovery.

  11. Here I Am
    December 9, 2009 at 7:59 am

    thank you Julieann for bringing this wonderful news. Stephen my prayers will continue for a speedy recovery… Take care my friend Hugs Carrie

  12. ravingpoet
    December 9, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I’m so glad the surgery went well. My Dad had something similar, and I know it is a real ordeal. Best wishes. The worst is over. Jx

  13. Carmen
    December 9, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Dear Stephen,In life there is quite a few "silent" heroes; some of them do extraordinary things without even noticing it; they fight for life with just a smile in their faces and never give up even when things look darker and darker…Those silent heroes give us all an example of soul strenght, faith expression and deep joy just because they wake up to a new day everyday.These are the real leaders in life, the ones we should follow and believe in!!Stephen, you are a hero!God bless youAs ever be wellCarmen

  14. Fizz
    December 9, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Well Done! You did Steven great homage. I’m so very glad that the surgery has gone well. I will hold him in the light for his safe recovery!

  15. Beth
    December 9, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Thank you Julieann for bringing this update on Stephen. Msg for Stephen: Prayers are being said for your complete recovery.Beth

  16. Rambling
    December 9, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Thank you so much. I did not let go of him yesterday. Stephen,. be well…we want you back here happy and strong.

  17. Jade
    December 9, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Thank you you did a great job!cannot wait for him to tell the story :)So, Steven is the USB port connected ?where did the Dr. put it? OH Darn, your family wasnt supposed to find out-sorry!

  18. john
    December 9, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Stephen in the face of your courage and determination the cancer did not have a chance.Be well and don’t harass the staff be of good humor.

  19. redvelvet
    December 9, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Thank you, Stephen. So happy to hear your surgery was a success. Will keep you in my prayers for a quick and complete recovery. Godspeed.

  20. Laoch
    December 9, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Good news. Good wishes for your recovery.

  21. Hope
    December 9, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Thanks so much Juliann for letting us know whats going on with Stephen. Thank Goodness! Now the healing can really begin!!Wishing you many blessings.

  22. Prenin
    December 9, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    I knew before I opened the link that it was good news!!! :o)Give him my best wishes and prayers for a full recovery – he’s a good guy and deserves it!!!Love and hugs all round!!!Prenin.

  23. J
    December 9, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Beautiful! Great news, thanks for sharing. Mend quick Stephen!j

  24. Julieann
    December 10, 2009 at 4:11 am

    Stephen called me tonight which surprised me. I said he didn’t sound too good and he said he felt like a truck ran over him. I asked him how big the truck was and he said BIG. I read all your comments in his voice mail and he said he will listen to them after he gets some more sleep. I know those first three days after area whopper. Thanks again for all the cheers for lovely Stephen. Julieann

  25. ROCKET
    December 10, 2009 at 5:11 am

    So right. When I came out of the anesthesia after my last back surgery I told people it felt like an elephant in golf cleats was standing on my chest. Here’s hoping for a speedy recovery.

  26. Michiko's
    December 10, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Thank you Julieann let us know this wonderful news about Stephen. I will keep you in my thoughs and prayers for full recovery.Big hugs.Michiko

  27. Polly
    December 10, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Thank you for passing on the good news. I hope and pray that the pain passes quickly, then once again we can all share the joy laughter of his stories. Tell him to get well soon. We miss him.

  28. PJ
    December 11, 2009 at 3:00 am

    Dearest Julieann,What a beautiful human being you are and I have always known this!! Thank you so much for the update. Hopefully the pain will lessen for Stephen and eventually this will all be just a memory. Please pass along this to him for me:I lit a candle for you, Stephen, and I am certain that you will be home soon recuperating from this miracle surgery. God Bless You and keep that smile and positivity that I know you have within.Again, thank you Julieann for your update and the photo. Very nice indeed! (Wouldn’t expect anything differnet from you, Sweetie)~Paula~

  29. Jane
    December 11, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    I am SO glad :)

  30. john and sandy
    December 12, 2009 at 2:50 am

    Steve Iam Glad the battle is almost over for you we know how hard the battle can be but we are overcommers and you will overcome this love your bro

  31. Catherine Mary
    December 13, 2009 at 4:37 am

    I am so thankful that Stephen’s surgery went so well..you’re in my thoughts and prayers as you go on through recovery, my friend..love, Katie.

  32. Jade
    December 13, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    checking and waiting for an update–hope he is ok ❤

  33. PJ
    December 13, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Was hoping for an update on Stephen. Still in my prayers. Paula

  34. Greg
    December 13, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    That’s good news Stephen…We all come in agreement for many more years to be with us to share and create.Thank you for sharing the news Julieann.

  35. Michiko's
    December 14, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Dear Stephen,I hope you are doing well, thinking of you.Big Hugs,Michiko

  36. Julieann
    December 15, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Hi everybody!!! I am sorry I haven’t put an update in the last few days but my fifteen year old grandson, Austin, was very sick and in the hospital. He has Mono :/ Steven called me from the hospital today at noon and said he was all packed and his brother-in-law was going to drive him home today. TA DA!!!!! So, in case he is absolutely worn out which there would be a good chance of that and he isn’t able to get on the computer, he will probably write something very soon. TONIGHT HE SLEEPS IN HIS OWN BED! CANCER FREE! YEAH!!!! I have read him almost all your incredibly loving messages and I am sure it led to a faster recovery :) Amazing what love and kindness can do, isn’t it? You are awesome!always…Julieann…always

  37. ROCKET
    December 15, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Great news! It’s always easier to rest in one’s own bed and cancer free to boot! Conratulaions, Stephen and welcome home!

  38. Hope
    December 15, 2009 at 2:51 am

    Thanks Julieann.. I am so glad Stephen, is going home and Cancer Free!! Nothing better then that!! Hugs and Prayers always Hope Ps..gotta love when cancer gets a good swift kick in the pants!!

  39. Sue
    December 15, 2009 at 3:07 am

    This is Great new,Welcome home Stephen, get lots of rest and take good care of yourselfSue

  40. Julieann
    December 15, 2009 at 4:05 am

    Stephen, welcome back to Tara!!!! Bravo, you brave warrior! always…Julieann…always

  41. ··¤ SETH
    December 15, 2009 at 4:11 am

    This has got to be some of the best news that I have heard all day, so very happy to hear that your surgery went well. It’s just a matter of time before you spring back into action Stephen. My heart felt wishes for a speedy recovery are with you!WELCOME HOME dear friend!

  42. Sherrilynn
    December 15, 2009 at 6:20 am

    This is a really great Christmas present! Bless you Stephen,with a speedy recovery.

  43. Coffee With Kate
    December 15, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Hello Stephen,It is good to receive your message via Julieann and good to hear that you are recovering and sounding quite chipper. Keep strong and focus on the good things.I wish you a warm Christmas shared with family and friends, and I wish you many blessings for 2010.Take care and warm hugs to you,Kate from Cape Town

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

