Home > world news, spaces, fine art, movies, computer and internet, MSN Live Spaces > PAINTING STUDIO Wildflowers On The Ridge And Blue Balloon By Stephen Craig Rowe

PAINTING STUDIO Wildflowers On The Ridge And Blue Balloon By Stephen Craig Rowe


 
      Was away for three days this week walking the wards at the VA Med Centers in Danville, Il. and Indianapolis for an Oncology follow up that gave me a clean bill of health.  While there I also walked the lawns and marveled at the rush of spring lush green and blooms only a few hours south.   Good to see some old comrads and to meet some new, yet there is a profound sadness when one has a stay in a Veterans Hospital.  I can not describe the feeling that touches me.  Perhaps it is mine only as dealing with things in time are unique to the experience that transends words. 
      Home again I put on a pot of coffee and out the window saw some wildflowers on the ridge.  Put on my boots, camera in hand and had to capture some of the sweet of spring.
      The frail strong joy that is there causes more than pause, wonder and joy.  For the reality is life, on and on.  Eternal as the flower from the seed is rooted in the core of the Earth and in the Stars of the Universe.  Or so it seems.
 
        On the ridge I have seen many deer, some coyote, wild turkeys, rocky raccoon, birds of all kinds and of course nut crunching thugs.  But at the close of day I saw a blue balloon on the ridge and had to investigate as there seemed to be a note attached or something that drew me back into the woods.  
     I found a blue balloon with a note attached from a child in preschool at Head Start.  They were talking about things that go up in the air and let balloons go to see how far they make it. 
Then asked if one was found to write a letter back.  How sweet is that?  A bit of hope up in the sky.  A lone and far away calling like a letter in a bottle.  Well, I think we should write them back.  Though I have a had time reading the name, it may be Roioner, 233 Leadley Ave. East Peoria, Il 61611.  These small things are seeds and as great as the harvest. 
      As ever be well,
       Stephen Craig Rowe
  1. john
    April 10, 2010 at 3:13 am

    The perspective of a unique man.The VA has its own aroma…. one of sharing… one of anger….. and the sadness….. a pulse that only a few grasp or feelGlad to hear the good test results… enjoyed the walk… thanks

  2. ROCKET
    April 10, 2010 at 4:10 am

    Absolutely wonderful photos, my friend! I know exactly what you mean about the feel of a VA hospital. Maybe it’s the aura of once young and healthy warriors who always thought themselves invincible, now humbled at having to seek help. It’s something I’ve never sensed in a civilian hospital. Glad to hear you got a clean bill of health and got out with your camera. I’m reveling in the renewal as spring bursts forth all around. My shutter release will probably need replacing soon at the pace I’m using it lately.

  3. Jenny
    April 10, 2010 at 4:30 am

    Dear Stephen,it is the way how you describe things, I agree with John, you’re a unique person. Enjoy the spring and the variety of flowers that brighten our lives.Wish you a wonderful weekendJenny

  4. Sue
    April 10, 2010 at 4:46 am

    Very glad you got a clean bill of health,your pic’s are lovely, I love to see wild flower from your part of our world they are so different to what we have here,I hope you have good weekend, with lots of sunshineTake careSue

  5. Michiko's
    April 10, 2010 at 5:45 am

    It was a good news that you got clean bill of health although you havin in here all bright enjoyable yourlife shows in the pictures andI am very happy for you my dear friend Stephen and your family too.Have a great weekend,Michiko

  6. MARISOL
    April 10, 2010 at 10:00 am

    What beautiful photos have you taken! And the blue balloon…. is a symbol of hope. Write the child! He´ll be very pleased and last but not least…very surprised!!!Recieve many regards from Berlin.

  7. puzzle
    April 10, 2010 at 11:39 am

    good news, lovely pictures and of course you would please this kid a lot with an answer – you know: at that age, they believe in wishes (- and haven’t we all something like a blue balloon kept in our hearts? ^^).

  8. Barbara
    April 10, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Hello my friend,glad to hear that you are doing good. I’m happy that everything is starting to bloom again new life to things which I need to see. Going to town this afternoon to buy dog food with 6 Shih Tzu’s in the house can’t let them get hungry they might eat the house.

  9. Prenin
    April 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Beautiful Stephen.I’m so glad you got the all clear and I agree about medical places – especially homes for the elderly where the scent of stale urine goes with the feeling of quiet despair!!!Write back to the kid – it’ll be a nice surprise!!! :o)Hope you have a great weekend my friend – loved the flowers!!!God Bless!Prenin.

  10. ··¤ SETH
    April 11, 2010 at 4:59 am

    Well Stephen, I for one am glad to hear about your clean bill of health! Something worth making a toast to. :o)Taking pictures of beautiful flowers is very pleasing to the eyes. You see things on the photos and through the camera lens that you don’t see just looking at them. Flowers stay where they are so you can take your time to get the shot just right. They also make really nice relaxing slide shows in the middle of the winter mixed with some nice background music. Wonderful photos Stephen!You may have found a balloon, but it’s so much more. What a great idea, a nice way to say ‘HELLO’ to the world.

  11. Jade
    April 11, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    oh my, those are beautiful….!!!You are SO lucky to have such beauty nearby

  12. Rambling
    April 11, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    what FUN and what a sweet surprise.

  13. ··¤ SETH
    April 11, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I completely agree Stephen. Do send me the ‘address’ and know that I will reply from across many miles… with no strings attached. :o) MSN Spaces is a communications mechanism handed to us by the world wide web allowing so many people from so many countries/destinations… near and far… to connect and interact with one another. Yes, I can imagine how a message from far off would be gladly received by a young child/school class. I will do a brief explanation as to how I can across the balloon, which was via tiny invisible threads on the world wide web. Looking forward to it!

  14. Prenin
    April 11, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Good idea Stephen!Hopefully the address is OK, but what to write???Do we pretend it came to us and we sent it on or what???Do we say ‘Your message found its way across the world from one friend to another – greetings from England!!!’Just a thought….Prenin.

  15. Catherine Mary
    April 12, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    There are moments in my life when I am left breathless and speechless with awe….and this is one of them…I hope you can decipher the child’s handwriting enough to send him/her back a note to say their balloon reached all the way to you…that is so sweet and so touching…your pictures of wild flower are so beautiful it is truly like I went for that walk with you…I can smell their scent from here..oh, thank you, Stephen! love, Katie.

  16. ··¤ SETH
    April 12, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Hey friend… stopping by to say hello and I do hope that this message finds you keeping well. Cheers to you and yours… be safe.

  17. Rambling
    April 15, 2010 at 1:17 am

    I meant to say and totally went blank that I think ti is a super good idea. Those kids will be thrilled!!!

  18. Flo
    April 15, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Ah, what gorgeous flowers. I love spring!

  19. SANDRA
    April 17, 2010 at 3:22 am

    Beautiful! Beautiful! Your art and Blogs flow with your love of Life. I am so very very thankful that you received a clean Bill of Health, my dear friend. As I wrote to you, "Your Light is too Bright to allow Cancer to take it away". Spring is "Birth" of all things new and things not-so-new as well (I place myself in the latter category)…and this is another Spring to enjoy here on this Earth for you and I, and all those who love you Stephen. Always, Sandra

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment