Full Moon Fever by Stephen Craig Rowe


Untitled Photo

Full moon fever pulls one in and out of the clouds as the moon herself remains hidden from view.  All but a faint glow is seen through the seemingly frozen dome of sky about to crack, shatter and shed shards of ice and snow from heaven to earth. 

Got the full moon fever.  Got the full moon fever.  Got the full moon fever.  Baby, baby, baby………got the Hong Kong flu for you! 

Kitchen windows frosted, dishes done and about to be put away.  Humming Got The Full Moon Fever as one does while composing a song or poem and the phone in shirt pocket rang an old time ring tone like a telephone.  Once, twice, not sure, singing Got The Full Moon Fever out loud to no one but the house plants and frosted kitchen windows.  Looked at the phone to see who the call was from and it was a number from Georgia so I took the call thinking it may be from a fine arts photographer lady friend and gave a smooth hello. 

The call was from Kandahar and my son and I laughed as we talked half a world away of this and that.  Father and son stuff, gladness in communication, goodwill, best wishes, be safe and things like that.  The call was through the United Service Organization and had a time limit but we had time to say all that must be said for now. 

After the dishes were done and put away I went out on the front porch and still could not see the moon through the frozen dome but I was singing, Got the full moon fever.  Got the full moon fever.  Got the full moon fever.  Baby, baby, baby got the full moon fever for you!

As ever be well.  Stephen Craig Rowe

  1. January 20, 2011 at 7:45 am

    a very special perfect full moon night 🙂

  2. January 20, 2011 at 8:06 am

    I’m glad you had a chance to talk to your son – I assume he’s in the forces?

    My brothers both served their full career in the Army doing stuff they can’t talk about even today – it’s amazing what DOESN’T turn up in the press…

    God Bless you both!

    Prenin.

  3. January 20, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I am so absolutely thrilled that you got to talk to your son, Stephen! That’s wonderful! Keeping you both in my tho’ts and prayers…amazing news! So glad for you! love, Katie.

  4. January 20, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    Glad you got to talk! 🙂

    I’ve heard of the Big Red One – famous in WWII and beyond!

    I pray he comes home safe with all his bits intact!!!

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  5. January 21, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    The phone call would be a lovely surprise, bet it made your day.
    Love the colours in your painting Stephen. I always seem to choose the
    same colours tp paint, I like to use green and blues mainly. I like
    your site with the personal touches added, looks great.

  6. January 21, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    The artwork is phenomenal!
    Music is too… That really is like almost a redundant statement, right?

  7. January 23, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Hi Stephen!!! 🙂

    -4’F works out at -20’C which is what we had in Scotland and parts of the East Coast.

    Here in Manchester it got to -9’C which is cold enough for me! LoL!!!

    I find that alkyfrol does wonders too, but I have resistance to it so it takes half a bottle before it has an effect – not good…

    Gin is nice with mixers, I also drink it neat, but my favourite is dark Rum or JD if I can afford it.

    Rum and Black is great, but a hot Toddy is mind blowing, so I drink them often! LoL!!!

    You have a great week my friend – it’s an honour to know you!

    Prenin.

  8. January 24, 2011 at 1:59 am

    It was a beautiful moon, wasn’t it?
    Be well,
    J.

  9. January 24, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Hello Stephen
    It´s so nice to have u visiting my blog.
    I´d love to have this wonderful ‘Full Moon’ on my living room wall!!!
    As ever be well, dear friend!!!

  10. January 27, 2011 at 5:38 am

    hello Stephen
    wow that must have been so funny when u thought the phone cal a lady.
    I know the feeling
    Sounds like your son is good Good news is always best
    Your writing is really entralling to read
    Saty safe and be happy
    Hugs Noelle xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

